Oh my god, where have you been?

I’m not going to pretend that too many people care whether or not Kat in the Kitch gets updated on a weekly basis, but I was getting what I would deem a moderate amount of guff from friends who know me in Real Life for dropping off the face of the blog planet. You see,  some people rely on me to make them feel better about themselves (read: I’m a mess). Well, I’ll withhold no longer. Here is a post  about some strawberry-rhubarb crumble I made a few weeks ago, before strawberries really came into their own (I used frozen, everything was ok).

I only have 1 picture, because I have an iphone now, friends, so I never use my actual camera (sorry Canon). So check it out, this is what my crisp looked like. It tasted like rainbows and sunshine though. Delicious times infinity. Fucking strawberry rhubarb. It’s the best!

I’m not really ready to jump back into embarrassing life stories yet, internet. I don’t know, it seems like the more I talk about things being a mess, the more messy things get. So what I’m telling you is I’m not going to give you what you want. If you want to stick around, I’ll get there. You just need to be patient.

For now I’ll give you this crisp and the warming knowledge that, yes, I’m still a disaster. You’re doing ok. You’re probably married or something. Go you! How are your kids? Tow-headed and precocious? I thought so. I drank 2 liters of beer in 30 minutes the other night. Because someone bet me. That’s where I’m at, internet. I’m 2 weeks to 29 and that is where I am at. So.

Strawberry Rhubarb Crisp
from Food&Wine (I can’t even remember if this is the right recipe)

FILLING
2 pounds rhubarb stalks, sliced 1/2 inch thick
1 1/4 cups sugar
1 pound strawberries, hulled and quartered
3 tablespoons cornstarch
2 teaspoons fresh lemon juice
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
TOPPING
1 stick (4 ounces) unsalted butter, softened
1 1/2 cups light brown sugar
1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 1/4 cups quick-cooking rolled oats
3 tablespoons canola oil
1 1/2 teaspoons cinnamon
3/4 teaspoon salt

Preheat the oven to 375°. In a bowl, toss the rhubarb with 3/4 cup of the sugar and let stand for 15 minutes, stirring occasionally. In another bowl, toss the strawberries with the remaining 1/2 cup sugar and let stand for 10 minutes, stirring occasionally. Using a slotted spoon, transfer the rhubarb to the strawberries; discard any rhubarb juice. Add the cornstarch, lemon juice and vanilla to the fruit and stir well. Transfer the mixture to a 9-by-13-inch glass baking dish.
Combine all of the ingredients in a medium bowl. Using a pastry blender or your fingers, mix the ingredients together until large crumbs form.
Sprinkle the topping evenly over the filling and bake for 30 minutes. Reduce the oven temperature to 325° and continue baking for about 30 minutes longer, until the fruit filling is bubbling and the topping is nicely browned. Let the crisp rest for 10 to 20 minutes before serving.

Author: katboda

Hey, cram it.

3 thoughts on “Oh my god, where have you been?”

  1. Thank you for returning. I like your blog because even though I am married with 2 kids, my internal dialogue sounds a bit like yours. Despite my marital status and offspring, I am often a wreck. BTW at 29 I was in the Bay area with no idea what I would be doing in the next few years.

    Oh! And because the food is GOOD!

Leave a Reply

