Pearplexity

There are a lot of things that perplex me. For instance, is it rude to go to the dentist without having just brushed your teeth? Or is it like…you know they’re going to clean them anyway, so you try to get the most bang for your buck? Similarly…hairdresser. Do I wash my hair beforehand? I know it’s going to be part of the process. But still, I feel like I go in with my hair all tied back and oily and the hairdresser is like, oh honey no, come here, let me help you. And I’m like, but it’s not usually like this! And they look at my fleece and casual jeans and sneakers and are like, sure honey, sure.

Like I could fool anyone into thinking I put the appropriate amount of effort into my appearance. I mean, today I forgot to put on deodorant. Just forgot. Forgot like I don’t put it on every damn day of my life. I also chose this day to walk to work. A cool hour of San Francisco hills later and I’m sure I didn’t impress my coworkers with my freshness.

The point of this post is that though I am often confused on how to act like a human being, I know my way around a crumble. By heart. I can crumble almost any fruit. This is my go-to ratio, and pears and cranberries are somewhat of a December thing, but we’re going to give me a pass on this one because I forgot to put on deodorant this morning.

Make it in your brand new Le Creuset that you got for Christmas that you sometimes talk to when you’re feeling lonely. If that’s the kind of person you are. Me and Cressy won’t judge you.

Pear and Cranberry Crumble

4-5 pears (i used….comice?)
1 1/2 cups cranberries (frozen’s ok)
a few tbsps of sugar, depending on how sweet your pears are (2-3 is a good bet)
1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
half a lemon’s worth of juice
2 tbsp unsalted butter
1/2 vanilla bean

1 cup flour (you can do 1/2 white 1/2 whole wheat if you wanna)
1 cup oats
3/4 cup brown sugar, packed
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon allspice
a pinch ground cloves
1 teaspoon salt
1 stick unsalted butter, cubed

Preheat oven to 350.

Roughly dice pears and place in your baking dish. Add cranberries, sugar, cinnamon, and mix (with your hands is cool). Sprinkle lemon juice over. Melt the butter in a saucepan and scrape your vanilla bean seeds into it. Heat on low until lightly browned. Pour the vanilla-butter mixture over the pear-cranberry mixture and mix to coat.

Whisk together flour, oats, brown sugar, cinnamon, allspice, cloves, and salt. Add the butter and mash up with your hands until the butter is mostly incorporated. Squeeze together some larger chunks and crumble them over the pears. Press lightly. Make sure there are a lot of different sizes of crumble top.

Bake 45 min to an hour-ish. or until the topping is crisp and brown and the pears have been bubbling for 10 minutes.

Author: katboda

Hey, cram it.

Leave a Reply

