Anti anti-eggs

In order to be fair to this banana bread, I must start with the disclaimer that I pretty much didn’t follow the recipe and I used REALLY old walnuts…the kind you might smell and say to yourself “these are probably not good.” Which, unfortunately, overlaps with my particular venn diagram of “things I’m probably going to use anyway even though I kinda know they are no longer good.”

And I defrosted my bananas on my stove top. I mean it wasn’t turned on or anything, but I was trying to use ambient heat and it took like 6 years and they were oddly hot in some places and still frozen in other places and…well, I tried to be energy efficient so I guess that’s what I GET.

Also I used yogurt instead of milk because I didn’t have any (and RUSSIAN yogurt at that). Aaand I honestly forget what else I added. Maybe raisins? Currants? God knows. I have all sorts of bags of things that sit on my shelves that sometimes get used up very quickly after they are bought, and sometimes they spend very long sabbaticals behind my bags of flour and then I find them 9 months later and say, ok, I’m totally going to use these really shortly, and then I like, don’t bake for 6 months again and they get all questionable and stuff.

So, my final issue is that there aren’t any eggs in this bread, which is a thing I guess. To be honest, I’m the opposite of anti-egg, and the only reasons I decided to use this recipe were 1) my sister raved about it (though she arguably followed the instructions, as is her general way of living) and 2) I was all out of eggs, and similarly out of ambition to walk the 2 blocks to the nearest corner store. So, you know.

Something tells me the bread is totally legit if you don’t use stale walnuts and raisins, and if you like….pay attention to what you’re doing and don’t be all incomplete about it. So do it, internet user! Plus, what it does have going for it is that it’s SUPER banana-y. You know when you make banana bread and it’s like…not banana-y enough? I feel that way a lot. Probably way too much. I feel everything a lot sometimes. Internet emoticon.

Coziest Banana Bread
from My New Roots 

¼ cup milk of your choice (almond, hemp, cow, goat, soy…)
6 Tbsp. olive oil, butter, ghee, coconut oil
6 Tbsp. maple syrup
1 tsp. pure vanilla extract
2 ¼ cups mashed ripe bananas (approximately 5 medium bananas)
2 cups flour (I used equal parts light + whole spelt)
1 tsp. baking soda
1 tsp. baking powder
½ tsp. sea salt
1 cup chopped nuts + seeds (I used walnuts, pecans, and pumpkin seeds)
¾ cup chopped dark chocolate (1 standard 100 g bar) – optional

Directions:
1. Preheat oven to 350F.
2. Line an 8” x 8” cake pan or loaf pan with baking paper, or lightly oil and dust with flour, shaking out excess.
3. Put the milk, oil, maple syrup, vanilla, and bananas in a blender and blend until smooth.
4. In a large bowl combine dry ingredients. Add banana mixture and combine using as few stroked as possible. Fold in nuts and chocolate.
5. Pour into a cake pan and smooth the top. Bake until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean (time varies greatly according to oven – mine takes about an hour, but this recipe suggests only 30 minutes. Check periodically after the half hour mark.)

Author: katboda

Hey, cram it.

1 thought on “Anti anti-eggs”

Leave a Reply

