Overflow

So I overflowed a toilet at work yesterday.

I overflowed a toilet. With someone else 2 stalls down. At work. My reaction? Well, first I squealed. Then I laughed and said, shit (though it was all pee, for the record)! Then I fumbled with the lock on my stall as the toilet water rushed toward my foot. I finally freed myself, washed my hands, and casually walked out of the bathroom. I wasn’t sure what the protocol was. Do I stand there and warn others? Do I wait for the person in the stall to come out so I could be like…sorry? That wasn’t me? It was already clogged when I got there?

These are the kinds of things I always struggle with. I get basic situation-handling for the most part. But, how do you save an awkward situation like that? My instinct is to get the hell out of there and pretend nothing happened, but I’m sure that just makes it worse. Everyone is suspicious of a fleer. The good news is I’m starting a new job (again! AGAIN!!! AGAINNN!!!) in a few weeks, so at least I’m going out on some high notes. Maybe they will engrave it in a watch for me. For she’s a jolly good girl-who-got-caught-staring-at-her-boss’-crotch-followed-immediately-by-overflowing-a-toilet-and-running-away-and-not-cleaning-it-up.

And that’s just the stuff I can tell you about! I also made this bread, which I thought was pumpkin bread but WAS NOT. Definitely a gingerbread, with subtle pumpkin notes. Which is cool, and it was moist as hell, and extremely gingery and nice, but. I wanted a pumpkin bread, and this was not it. Luckily there is still a lot of FALL left, so we can try again! But I don’t want you to not try this bread because it wasn’t what I expected. It’s still incredibly delicious. Sorta like, you think you’re inviting George Clooney over but instead a pizza shows up? Like, a really good pizza?

I love pizza so much.

Ginger Molasses Pumpkin Bread
from food52

2.5 cups flour
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon salt
2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
1 teaspoon ground ginger
1/2 teaspoon freshly ground nutmeg
1 egg
1 cup pumpkin puree
1/2 cup dark brown sugar
2 tablespoons melted butter
1/4 cup vegetable oil
1/4 cup molasses
1/2 cup buttermilk (I used kefir, it’s allllllll good)
1 tablespoon chopped fresh ginger
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 tablespoon turbinado sugar
1 teaspoon cinnamon

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Butter and flour a 9″ x 5″ loaf pan.
In a large bowl, combine the flour, baking soda, baking powder, salt, cinnamon, ground ginger, and nutmeg.
In another bowl, whisk together the egg, pumpkin, brown sugar, butter, vegetable oil, molasses, and buttermilk until well combined. Add the fresh ginger and vanilla extract to the wet ingredients and mix well.
Pour the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients and stir until just combined (do not overmix). Pour the batter into the prepared loaf pan.
In a small bowl, mix the turbinado sugar with the remaining teaspoon of cinnamon and sprinkle over the top of the batter.Bake 40 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out clean. Let the bread cool in the pan for about 10 minutes, then remove to a wire rack to cool completely.

Author: katboda

Hey, cram it.

Leave a Reply

