No(thing but) soup for you.

Oh man, literally 12 hours after I wrote that post about things not going wrong I developed a dry socket where they extracted my tooth (read: ow, pain, ow, oh god, the horrors), and then I was on my way to a job interview (late) and I spilled coffee all down the boob of my shirt. Luckily, I suppose, I had brought a cardigan. This Is Why We Buy Cardigans, actually.

So, I guess I asked for that one. Lesson learned, internet. Never boast about things going ok. The universe will shit all over you out of spite.

Other lesson learned: when you get your tooth extracted, don’t push the 1) exercising 2) chewing timetables. I did both, and I am paying in hours of my life spent yearning to be unconscious. Yes, it is true that I’d rather be asleep than awake and feeling this tooth business. On the plus side, soup! Not that I need encouragement to eat it, but being relegated to soup is not a terrible thing when you have access to a bunch of it.

This weekend I went to the local farmer’s market and couldn’t help but buy a squash, some tomatoes, some potatoes, and some chard. Everything was so colorful, and before I knew it my Saturday afternoon became a soup-production-line. Here, fresh onions and garlic made a HUGE difference. This was a good ass soup, if a bit more of a stew that needed to be carefully chewed on one side of my mouth. I did, however, puree the living hell out of it the next day, and it was most agreeable. Good ass soup is good in all its states, readers. So go take advantage of still thinking cold weather is quaint, because we’re going to regroup in February when you’ve had Just About Enough Of This Cold Shit, and No More Soup For The Love of Everything Holy I Don’t Want Any More Soup.

Kabocha squash, potato, and chard soup

1 small kabocha squash (or other–butternut is always welcome in my soups), peeled and diced
1 onion, chopped
2 cloves garlic, minced
3 heirloom tomatoes, diced small
like 8 fingerling potatoes, sliced
half a bunch red chard, rinsed and chopped
tbsp cumin
1/2 tsp sage
salt & pepper to taste

Heat up some olive oil in a beautiful yellow stock pot. Add the onions and cook until translucent. Mix in the spices to cover the onions, then add the garlic and stir. Dump in the squash and cover with enough water so that all the pieces are submerged. Bring to a boil, then turn down to simmer for a few minutes. Add the potatoes. Simmer some more. Then add the tomatoes. Continue to simmer for another 20ish minutes. With about 10 minutes to go (test the squash and the potatoes, they should be a tad hard still), add the chopped chard and cover. Let simmer until the chard has reduced in size and everyone else is cooked. Salt, pepper, some cheese on top, whatever. Bread is nice if no one has ripped a tooth from your jaw recently.

Author: katboda

Hey, cram it.

Leave a Reply

