Pipecakes

Have we talked about eating while camping? Let’s talk about it. Because my unofficial life motto is Sandwiches At High Altitudes, you can guess that I am pretty serious about my camping and hiking food. Last weekend I went camping with a big group a few hours up the Sonoma coast, and it was a gourmet experience. People spear-fished, and then beer-battered and panko’d the very fish they just caught! We ate fresh urchin! And tri-tip! And gourmet s’mores!

I was responsible for breakfast on Sunday, which meant I needed something that would last 36 hours, but was also impressive. So I put all the dry ingredients for pancakes in a gallon-sized plastic bag, measured out the buttermilk into a water bottle, and brought along 2 eggs. And kablammo, a few shakes of the bag and I had Sunday morning pancakes. Well, all the credit goes to my sister, whose idea it was, who is responsible for most of the ideas I then rebrand as my good ideas. She also brought along the accompanying pear butter and plum jam. CAMPCAKES! But guess what, y’all. THIS is my new favorite pancake recipe. This very one! They’re lightly sweet, tangy from the buttermilk, and barely needed accoutrements. They’re crazy delicious.

Oh you know, just piping out the word “sausages” in pancake batter. These things and more are possible when you embrace the ziploc-bag-as-pastry-bag philosophy. You, too, can make a structurally sound golden gate bridge pancake while outdoors. After kayaking at sunset, running through a redwood grove, snorkeling through a kelp forest, and playing pabst-y sac (hackie sac with a pbr can). Isn’t life pretty grand?

Well unless you are me and you go to your dentist appointment today expecting a root canal and end up having your tooth completely extracted instead, because ha! ha! life is full of surprises! But also! Heh. The dentist was explaining that he was going to insert a cadaver bone into the cavity after he took the tooth out. I was like, heh, heh, oh, I see, you have to insert a bone into the cavity? That’s not the first time I’ve heard that this week. Am I right, doctor? Am I right? And then when he was putting it in he goes to his assistant, The Bigger One Would Be Better. And I was like, yeah it would. And his assistant is like, oh, this one? And he’s like, Yeah Let’s Put In The Long One. And I was like, yeah you are.

And at that moment I was thankful my mouth was stuffed with gauze.

Whole-Grain Pancakes
from 101 Cookbooks

2 cups white whole wheat flour (or unbleached all-purpose flour)  <–we used whole wheat pastry flour, so you know
1 teaspoon aluminum-free baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/3 cup natural granulated sugar (evaporated cane sugar)  <–we used light brown sugar
1/2 teaspoon fine grain sea salt
2 1/4 cups organic buttermilk
2 large organic eggs, lightly beaten
2 tablespoons butter, melted (melt in the pan skillet you are going to use)

To make the pancakes combine the flour, baking powder, baking soda, sugar, and salt in a large bowl. Add the buttermilk, eggs, and melted butter. Stir all the ingredients until they are just combined. Don’t worry if the batter is a bit lumpy, you don’t want to over mix.

Heat your skillet, pan, or griddle to medium-hot and brush it with a bit of butter. Test for the right temperature. If a drop of water dropped onto the pan starts to dance, you are in the ballpark. Pour about 1/3 of a cup of batter into the skillet. Wait until the pancake bottom is deep golden in color, then flip with a spatula and cook the other side until golden and cooked through. Repeat with the remaining batter.

Serve with a golden pat of butter and plenty of blueberries and syrup.

Makes about 12 large pancakes, or dozens of silver-dollars – enough to feed a small crowd.

Author: katboda

Hey, cram it.

Leave a Reply

