Why is no one impressed with all the cookies I’ve made

I had a conversation the other day with a friend about how much I hate ambitious people. This particular person was on my side, despite the fact that he had just finished telling me about how he was going to start working 7 days a week to support his full-time unpaid social justice internship (aaaagh!!!). Anyway, we made some solid points about how frustrating it is to be friends with successful people. For instance, I baked 266 cookies the other weekend with my sister. I felt pretty good about this accomplishment until I talked to my friend L about how she finished her fucking thesis for Harvard grad school. Maaan. STOP IT. Let me have my cookies! Everyone stop being so AWESOME and passionate all the time. It is EXHAUSTING.

But, like I said, so is baking 266 cookies, in some way. It’s a lot of baking! Which could feel like an accomplishment, unless you like…are a doctor, are a nonprofit lawyer, are making serious headway in cancer research, or are like doing legitimate things to repair education in this country, WHICH ALL OF MY STUPID FRIENDS JUST HAPPEN TO BE DOING. Then, you know, the baking of cookies becomes somewhat of a trivial pursuit.

Speaking of which (this is a masterful transition), I went to a singles board game night the other night. Yep. Went there. I don’t know what I was expecting, but some tall dark and handsome man did not keep up with me in taboo and then ask for my number. But do you see how I’m trying? I’m like, totally putting myself out there. Dear unknown men of the world: I have not made any headway in solving the world’s water crisis, nor have I accomplished anything of note since graduating college, but! BUT! People usually want me on their pictionary team. Unless they’re bad, because then they know I’ll just get mad at them and say things I don’t mean (slash do mean). So just to sum up: unambitious about meaningful things, obnoxiously ambitious in any game-type situation. Awesome work developing your character, Kat. Also: talks to herself.

Oh yeah, and I bake cookies. Specifically, these ones. They are good but I’m not in love with them, maybe because we skipped the chocolate (at the request of the receiver of said cookies). Also they’re a bit dry. I like a chewier ginger cookie. Also they don’t cure cancer or anything. So.

Ginger Cookies
from Super Natural Every Day

1/2 cup large-grain raw or turbinado sugar
6 ounces bittersweet 70% cacao dark chocolate
2 cups whole wheat pastry flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 1/2 tablespoons ground ginger
1/2 teaspoon fine grain sea salt
1/2 cup unsalted butter cut into small cubes
1/4 cup unsulphured blackstrap molasses
2/3 cup fine grain natural cane sugar
2 tablespoons peeled and grated fresh ginger
1 large egg, well beaten
1 cup plump dried apricots, finely chopped

Preheat the oven to 350, place racks in the top and bottom third of the oven. Line two baking sheets with unbleached parchment paper or a Silpat mat, and place the large-grain sugar in a small bowl. Set aside.
Finely chop the chocolate bar into 1/8-inch pieces, more like shavings really.
In a large bowl whisk together the flour, baking soda, ground ginger, and salt.
Heat the butter in a saucepan until it is just barely melted. Remove from heat and stir in the molasses, sugar, and fresh ginger. The mixture should be warm, but not hot at this point, if it is hot to the touch let it cool a bit. Whisk in the egg. Now pour this over the flour mixture, add apricots, and stir until just combined. Fold in the chocolate. Chill for 30 minutes, long enough for the dough to firm up a bit.
I like these cookies tiny, barely bite-sized, so I scoop out the dough in exact, level tablespoons. I then tear those pieces of dough in two before rolling each 1/2 tablespoon of dough into a ball shape. From there, grab a small handful of the big sugar you set aside earlier and roll each ball between your palms to heavily coat the outside of each dough ball. Place dough a few inches apart on prepared baking sheets. Bake for 7-10 minutes or until cookies puff up, darken a bit, and get quite fragrant. (In my oven, 8 minutes is just perfect.)
Makes roughly 4 dozen.
Prep time: 30 min – Cook time: 10 min

Author: katboda

Hey, cram it.

3 thoughts on “Why is no one impressed with all the cookies I’ve made”

Leave a Reply

