more fucking salad

Oh hey. I took exactly one photo of this “israeli couscous salad” that I made the other day, so let’s get it out of the way and show you:

Those are some of the vegetables I decided to put into the salad! Scintillating, really.

I’m sorry, internet. All I want to be is sassy with you, but my heart’s not in it today. I’ve had one of those weeks where things are alternately AWESOME YEAH and oh so not awesome nooo. I used wine as a coping mechanism more times than I’d’ve liked this week. I sent more Let’s Get Real emails fueled by said coping-wine than I’d’ve liked. I also ate quite a significant amount of emotional-cereal. Who knew cinnamon toast crunch was such a comfort food??

Anyhoodle, moving forward. I’m mid-wedding-cake again, somehow, even though after the last one I said no more, ever, no way. But that’s what I said after my first marathon as well, and here I am, 2 weeks into marathon training. So last night I was rolling out gum-paste until the early hours of the morning. I’ve never done sugar flowers, so this is an interesting experience. Most notably, I’ve had a terrible time searching the internet for instructions, because I CANNOT STAND 99.9% of websites that have to do with cake decoration. It’s like a curlique-font swallowed a rainbow, which swallowed carnations, which swallowed a kitten. What the fuck is wrong with women? Why does every cake have to look like it smells like mothballs and perfume? I just want a website that tells me how to make a calla lily. I don’t need to bathe in the stench of unfulfilled housewives taking out their boredom on too-many-clashing-typefaces and tacky rolled fondant.

See? There we go. Some bitterness. That’s what I needed! Just cover up the open wounds with bitterness, Kat. You’re gonna make it after all.

Israeli Couscous and some stuff in it

1 cup israeli couscous, cooked and stuff (don’t look at me, i just throw it in 2 cups of water and see what happens)
1 eggplant, diced
2 small summer squash, diced
1 red pepper, diced
1/2 pint cherry tomatoes, halved
salt, pepper, olive oil & balsamic vinegar to taste
1/4 cup parsley, chopped
crumbled feta on top

Preheat oven to 400. Put the diced veggies on a sheet pan and sprinkle with olive oil, vinegar, salt, and pepper. Mix it up with your hands nice and good. Roast in the oven for about 20 minutes, until slightly softened. Add the veggies to the couscous, mix in the parsley, and sprinkle with feta. WEeee you did it!!

Author: katboda

Hey, cram it.

1 thought on “more fucking salad”

  1. “It’s like a curlique-font swallowed a rainbow, which swallowed carnations, which swallowed a kitten. What the fuck is wrong with women? Why does every cake have to look like it smells like mothballs and perfume? I just want a website that tells me how to make a calla lily. I don’t need to bathe in the stench of unfulfilled housewives taking out their boredom on too-many-clashing-typefaces and tacky rolled fondant.” = probably my favorite KitK paragraph ever…

Leave a Reply

