Keeeeeeeeeeeeeenwah.

Oh YIKES y’all. I took some truly awful photos of this dinner. Partially it’s because I am still using my very-much-despised droid phone to take my photos, and partially it’s because I was practicing the Julia Child method of cooking (stir, swig, stir, swig). Yeah, that’s right. Got all nice and wined up and then cooked some quinoa. Just trying to fit in here in San Francisco, and do we ever love our quinoa out here. And god help you if you think it’s pronounced “kwin-oh-ah.” It’s keeeeeeenwah, m’f’er. These cakes, from this amazing cookbook I bought, are so much more amazing than is expressed via my shitty picture taking. Please don’t be deterred from trying them because of my ineptitude.

I’ve been wanting to make these cakes ever since I saw them featured in some other blog with AN EGG ON IT. Things that have eggs on them are the best things. Pizza with an egg on it, pancakes with an egg on it, hamburgers with an egg on it, salad with an egg on it, bibimbap with an egg on it!!! All of these things are great and good. I made these with the help of my future sister K (my bro’s fiancee) and our mutual friend from high school, T; and then I took a really awesome picture of them resting on some paper towels. Photography!!!!

K and T were visiting from New York, so we decided to have a floor picnic in my new apt with my old roommates. I miss my old roommates!! My new roommates include: my radio that I sometimes talk to, my plant Skeeter that I sometimes talk to, and 4 stuffed animals from IKEA that live under my bed (that I have yet to talk to, but give me time). They rarely pitch in with the cleaning, but they don’t mind when I come home, disrobe, drink most of (read: all of) a bottle of wine and fall asleep with my computer on my chest watching Parks and Recreation on my pullout couch because I am too lazy to climb up to my bed.

So that’s nice of them. As you can tell, living alone realllllllly suits me.

Little Quinoa Patties
from Super Natural Every Day

2 1/2 cups/12 oz/340 g cooked quinoa, at room temperature
4 large eggs, beaten
1/2 teaspoon fine-grain sea salt
1/3 cup/.5 oz /15 g finely chopped fresh chives
1 yellow or white onion, finely chopped
1/3 cup/.5 oz/15 g freshly grated Parmesan or Gruyère cheese
3 cloves garlic, finely chopped
1 cup/3.5 oz /100 g whole grain bread crumbs, plus more if needed
Water, if needed
1 tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil or clarified butter

Combine the quinoa, eggs, and salt in a medium bowl. Stir in the chives, onion, cheese, and garlic. Add the bread crumbs, stir, and let sit for a few minutes so the crumbs can absorb some of the moisture. At this point, you should have a mixture you can easily form into twelve 1-inch/2.5cm thick patties. I err on the very moist side because it makes for a not-overly-dry patty, but you can add more bread crumbs, a bit at a time, to firm up the mixture, if need be. Conversely, a bit more beaten egg or water can be used to moisten the mixture.

Heat the oil in a large, heavy skillet over medium-low heat, add 6 patties, if they’ll fit with some room between each, cover, and cook for 7 to 10 minutes, until the bottoms are deeply browned. Turn up the heat if there is no browning after 10 minutes and continue to cook until the patties are browned. Carefully flip the patties with a spatula and cook the second sides for 7 minutes, or until golden. Remove from the skillet and cool on a wire rack while you cook the remaining patties. Alternatively, the quinoa mixture keeps nicely in the refrigerator for a few days; you can cook patties to order, if you prefer.

To cook quinoa: Combine 2 cups/12 oz/340 g of well-rinsed uncooked quinoa with 3 cups / 700 ml water and 1/2 teaspoon fine-grain sea salt in a medium saucepan. Bring to a boil, cover, decrease the heat, and simmer for 25 to 30 minutes, until the quinoa is tender and you can see the little quinoa curlicues.

Author: katboda

Hey, cram it.

1 thought on “Keeeeeeeeeeeeeenwah.”

  1. oooh i do hope i manage a stint in the bay area whilst you are there, i fully support fellow apparently healthy gals who run and cook quinoa and also indulge in da booooze. (today is half marathon training day one aka: strength and stretching. yesss.)

Leave a Reply

