Let there be twinkly lights

Ok, first of all, I need my camera back. I left it in NY and I shouldn’t have. But I bought this smart phone and I figured it would suffice. It doesn’t suffice. It hasn’t been sufficing. Suffice it to say! I need my camera, because these pictures look get-toe. Not that I’m one for positioning and lighting and expert photos with carefully placed cherries, as if it’s just always like that when I cook…cherries strewn about my adorable aged wooden countertop, and mint leaves delicately lying in poofs of whipped cream and just one bite taken out of the cake but some crumbs artfully trailing to the fine silver fork and also a doily or a folded and patterned dish towel under everything and there aren’t any random knives and garbage and whatever else goes on when you ACTUALLY make something. God, I just got riled up about food blog pictures all of a sudden. Ok so I’m not a Placer and a Prettifier, but come on. This isn’t even amateur hour. This is dilettante half-hour. This is embarrassing!

I mean, I do try to keeps it reals on this here blog. Below you will see a picture of my new favorite bowl (from the cracked/broken section at Heath Ceramics!), and all the things I had to take out of the bowl in order to eat dinner tonight. Because, hi, I’m 28, and I don’t have a bowl that is separate for fruits and avocados. It is the same bowl as the only bowl that is big enough to hold all my kale. The champagne, incidentally, was not in the bowl. The champagne just sits there, waiting for a reason to celebrate. If you’ve watched the movie Sideways, you know that the moral here is Every Day Is A Reason To Celebrate, Especially Those Days On Which You Haven’t Acted Like A Douche Towards A Pretty Girl Who Ends Up Forgiving You Anyway, Assumably. But, I am not one to take heed to moral lessons, so the champagne remains. The champain remagnes. Ha! Ha Ha! I’m such a card!

Oh but Y’ALL. Guess where I ATE this salad in this bowl-that-is-big-enough-for-this-kale-and-also-holds-my-lemons-and-avocados-during-its-off-hours?

IN MY NEW APT. Under some twinkly lights, because it’s my space and so I decided to decorate it as if I was 16 again. Also, you will note that the couch doubles as a dining room table. Listen, there is not a whole lot of space in my new apt (see: lofted bed whose ceiling clearance might make it impossible for me to ever get laid ever again, which is officially becoming my excuse if that remains the case for the next…undisclosed period of time) so lots of things double as other things. My kitchen, for example, is also my bike room! My living room doubles as the place I pile my mail up because I don’t ever want to sort through it. I’m an adult!

Whatever, I have my own apt and it has a DECK and a working kitchen and a bathroom with a crazy-ass mosaic mirror in it. But it’s mine. And I don’t have to share it with anyone!!! Ok, fine, Jesse Eisenberg, you’re welcome to share it with me. But I call top bunk! That means couch, Eisenberg.

Summer Kale Salad

1 bunch lacinato kale, chopped
1 tbsp +1 tsp olive oil, separated
1 clove garlic, chopped
1/4 tsp herbs de provence (or some other herbs, fresh if you’ve got em!)
2 summer squashes, sliced
1 tsp mustard
1/4 cup sunflower seeds, roasted
1/4 cup dried currants or cranberries
1/4 cup parmesano reggiano
salt & pepper to taste

Heat the tsp of oil in a large frying pan. Add the garlic and cook 30 sec, then add the squash and cook on med-high heat for about 5-7 minutes. Add the herbs and salt and pepper and stir to incorporate. Remove from heat. In a small bowl, whisk together the tbsp of olive oil with the mustard. Put the kale in a large bowl, and pour the mustard mixture over it. Mix in the sunflower seeds and currants. Add the squash and top with the cheese. Salt and pepper if she needs it!

Author: katboda

Hey, cram it.

2 thoughts on “Let there be twinkly lights”

  1. new place looks great! an unopened bottle of champagne never lasts long in my apartment. nice work.

Leave a Reply

