Test test y’all

Hiya internet.

Welllllll. The pie baking is off to a major start. That means we’ve been testing, and testing, and testing, and eating and eating and eating all of our potential recipes. That means a lot of pie. Like all UP in here. I live, breathe, and dream pie. Well, that’s not true. I dream about being externally pregnant with a duck egg and putting it on top of my sephora shopping bag and the duck egg falling off and breaking and me being relieved because I didn’t even like the father! So I’m full of pie and have gotten no sleep, and what little sleep I’ve gotten is devoted to weird single lady biological clock dreams. Gentlemen, please! Form a line!

Anyway, I went to a dinner party the other night and used it as an opportunity to test out a strawberry rhubarb pie recipe. Do you see all that liquid I collected from the macerating fruit? Yeah, well, all that drainage did no good. The final pie still turned out to be more of a pie soup. The innards, however, were quite tasty. Strawberries aren’t really THERE yet as far as flavor goes, but they’re on their way (and that is how you use there, they’re, and their in a sentence correctly, 80% of the people i know from high school TAKE NOTE). By the time we launch they should be hitting their stride, fingers crossed.

Pie crust, thankfully, never goes out of season. I feel good about this one. It hasn’t really ever let me down. Not that I’m just waiting for it to, god, I don’t do that with all the rest of the things in my life, stop, get out of my head! Former boyfriends are officially unwelcome to comment on this blog, btw. I don’t even know if any of them read this. Hey boyfriends! Do you read my blog? Dodged a bullet with this one, didn’t you, huh? Whatever, I didn’t want you to be the father of my duck egg anyway.

Strawberry-Rhubarb Pie

one double crust or lattice pie crust (my standby), chilled, rolled out, and pie-plated

4 cups strawberries, sliced
3 cups rhubarb, peeled and sliced
1 cup sugar (I used half brown, half white)
2 tbsp corn starch
1/2 vanilla bean
1/2 cinnamon stick

Preheat oven to 375 and prepare your crust up until the point where the bottom shell is in the pan, then refrigerate it. Mix together the strawberries, rhubarb, and sugar in a big mixing bowl. Transfer the mixture to a colander suspended over a big mixing bowl. Let them macerate for a while, like a few hours if you can spare it, or at least half an hour. Pour the liquid into a saucepan. Put a tbsp cornstarch in a little bowl. Spoon out some of the liquid into the cornstarch to make a paste, then add the paste into the pot. I like to boil it down with a half a vanilla bean (with the seeds scraped out) and a cinnamon stick for a while, until it’s jammy. Mix the other tbsp of cornstarch with the strawberries and rhubarb until you can’t see any cornstarch left. Pour the jammy liquid back onto the fruit, mix well, and pour into your prepared pie shell.

Bake at 375 for an hour or so. Really every oven is different. In general it should bake 10 more minutes after you see the filling bubbling. The crust should be a golden brown.

Author: katboda

Hey, cram it.

1 thought on “Test test y’all”

Leave a Reply

