I’d like to eat her liver with some fava beans and a nice bottle of Chianti

Last night my roommate and I took down an entire bottle of wine by ourselves. It wasn’t chianti, but it was goooooooooooood. I wrote out some Let’s Get Real email drafts that, thank god, I wasn’t drunk enough to send. God, writing email drafts while all wined-up. Playing with fire, that is. I woke up this morning and immediately grabbed my computer and prayed to sweet baby jesus that no sent messages were dated last night after 9pm. Hey, my sent box was clean! 2 months until I’m 28. Maybe I have finally learned my lesson about drinking and e-mailing. Count it!

So you know, this recipe is from weight watchers. That wasn’t on purpose really. I’m not like ON weight watchers or anything, not that that would be a BAD thing. But I think my roommate and I have the same stigma about it, because when she sent me this recipe she was all “WARNING: this is from weight watchers but that was an accident!” Basically the way we found it is we just listed off the things that we collectively had in our kitchen, and she searched for a recipe containing all of those things. Lo and behold, this is what came up. Turns out weight watchers has some pretty baller recipes up their sleeves. I KINDA knew that, but I am still so suspicious. I blame Ricki Lake.

I mean, maybe it was all the wine and girl talk and general good feelings, but I was digging this dinner like a really frenzied groundhog. Y’all should crack open a bottle of wine and get loose and eat lentils. Maybe shut your computer first though.

Dudes, sorry, I gotta cut this short. It’s a WARM SAN FRANCISCO NIGHT. We only get like 4 of these a year and I can’t waste one indoors. West coast, over & out.

Lentil, Fava Bean, and Feta Salad
from Weight Watchers (zomg rly)

1/2 cup (85g) fresh fava beans, shelled
2 cups drained cooked lentils
1 bunch of scallions, finely chopped
1 fresh green chile, finely chopped
6 oz (175g) feta cheese, cut into cubes
handful of fresh flat-leaf parsley, finely chopped
sea salt and freshly ground black pepper

For the dressing :

3 tablespoons olive oil
1 tablespoon white wine vinegar
1 x 1in (2.5cm) piece fresh ginger, peeled and grated
pinch of sugar (optional)

Put the lentils in a serving bowl and season with a pinch of salt and some black pepper. Stir in the fava beans, scallions, and chile.
To make the dressing, combine the oil, vinegar, and ginger in a small bowl. Season with salt and pepper and a pinch of sugar (if using), and whisk until well blended. Drizzle over the salad and let stand for 10 minutes, to allow the flavors to develop
When ready to serve, stir in the feta and parsley.

Author: katboda

Hey, cram it.

Leave a Reply

