The State of the Blog

I’m going through a crisis, internet. Not like a I’m-so-embarrassing-and-or-hopeless-I-hate-my-job-I’m-so-poor-who-am-I kind of crisis. More specifically, I am struggling with the state of this blog. There are several issues at hand. Let me give you the run-down and maybe we can come to some sort of solution, like when the president says “let’s fix education!” and then everyone says yeah! let’s fix education! and we all pay more taxes and raise teachers’ salaries and find some sort of system that works…

Or at least I can, you know, talk about it. Complain, as it were. As is my way.

1) I’m just not really baking a lot anymore. This is related to 2 sub-issues.

a) I’m not jazzed about the things I’ve been putting into my body (heyyyyyyyyyyyy if that doesn’t set you up for a that’s what she said, NOTHING does). I know it’s not like, a dire situation. But baking really worked for me when I was living at home with parents and siblings to eat the wares, or when I was in a relationship with a man skinnier than I who, quite frankly, needed to eat a few pies. My roommates are worthless. They are girls! They eat like 2 bites and claim to have helped me get rid of it, and then 3/4 of it is in my stomach. Y’all, I am trying to keep myself normal-sized. I CAN’T DO IT WHEN I AM BAKING DELICIOUS THINGS AND NO ONE IS EATING THEM BUT ME.

b) I don’t have a lot of time. I’ve got this new job, and I’ve been traveling, and all my kitchen stuff is in a box somewhere on some Amtrak train and I have no idea when I’ll get it back, if ever. (Don’t get me started on THAT particular topic, AMTRAK)

2) I don’t wanna give up on the blog, but I don’t wanna put out consistently shitty product. You know? I’m not a cook. This isn’t a cooking blog. I don’t want to have a blog about the weird vegetables I eat. It should be about bread and muffins and scones and shit. But it’s not, because I’m not BAKING those things. Because I hate myself, you know? Like, let a lady not eat carbs for a while. A lady’s body needs a BREAK.

So I don’t know. I know I’ve been erratically updating, and when I do it’s mostly me telling some dumb story that the internet might be better off without. Lately THAT hasn’t even been happening, because I have been going to bed at like 9:30. It’s just one of those CYCLES, where I’m trying to not act like I’m 18. You feel me?

I DO have some exciting things in the works later this spring. Like, really legitimately exciting baking-related stuff. Involving pies maybe I DON’T KNOW IT’S A SECRET. So it might be quiet for a little while. I feel like I’m writing this type of post every few months, which is why I’m kinda feeling like this blog is running its course. But, is it? I can’t quit it! I just can’t!!! How else will I release some of my insane life tension? How????

What are your thoughts, reader?

Also, here’s some veggies.

Spring Onions, Apples, and Brussel Sprouts

2 spring onions (or green onions)
2 cups brussel sprouts, halved
1 clove garlic, chopped
1 small apple
1/4 cup white wine
1 tsp honey
salt and pepper

Saute the onions in olive oil on medium high heat for 3ish minutes. Add the garlic and apples, saute until apples are slightly soft. Add white wine, stir and allow it cook off mostly. Add the honey and mix to incorporate. Add brussel sprouts curvy side down. Cover and allow to steam several minutes. Turn brussel sprouts over and cook until soft but still a bit crunchy. Salt and pepper to taste.

Author: katboda

Hey, cram it.

5 thoughts on “The State of the Blog”

  1. Oh silly Kat. You thought this blog was about BAKING. See, thats a common mistake. I send this link to lots of my friends who are all like “whaaaaaat why would I want to read a baking blog I’m all kinds of modern woman and aren’t even sure my apt has an oven” and then they start reading, and are hooked, and they’re not staying for the vegetables either, I’ll have you know. I’ll confess that I’ve used some recipes for those crises when I just HAD to bring something in to the office or to class and needed to look all “sure I whip this stuff up all the time”– you saved my ass in those situations. But more often you made me laugh inappropriately at work or said something in a wonderfully sarcastic way that made me love you and your wonderful craziness. I’ll confess, I know you in real life (it’s strange to me that people reading this blog might not. weeeeeird who are these stalker internet people :) so I come for that extra little bit of sass with my morning coffee to feel like you’re still around. But I think that I can speak for a lot of people out here in internet land when I say that I read a lot of boring ass blog hoping that they’ll entertain me just a smidgen of the way you can with a picture of your halloween costume. I mean, I’d read a blog about weird people you meet on trains or fabric patterns you observe on the street.

    So. Stop blogging if you’re not into it. Go start some absurd craft project with three exacto knives and a map to keep yourself engaged for the next month… just be happy. Be happy and love yourself. I’m down for whatever this next little phase of life throws at you, and if Kat’s not in the Kitch, well, then she just ain’t. However. if you find that you have a bit of sass or venting to do, I’m in for a daily report on how your latte came out. And maybe a cookie? Like, once a year? When I visit and can eat them all?

    xoxoxo

  2. ya no wait here’s the thing. when i have to make food for other people this is the only other site i go to beside the food network, and that site pretty annoying anyway so basically i just like coming here. and so the THING is, ive only ever baked one of your recipes (martha stewart strawberry cake. d.vine. and it was before had ever met. sincerely, creepy). All the other times have been your weird vegetable recipes. I made some quinoa and roasted tomato concoction for a few guests just last month! So, what im getting at is, the weird vegetables recipes are appreciated. Your “charming” verbal diarrhea is appreciated. If having to write stuff feels like a task then by all means abandon ship, but otherwise please continue writing about vegetables because i too am discriminating with what i allow inside me. which probably explains why im still single. hey. o.

  3. Do whatever makes you happy! If you want to write about it, we will all read it, whether it’s about a delicious cake or a douchey dude (or none of the above). I love your blog, I laugh out loud every time. And I can’t wait to meet you in the real world so I can stop being a creepy Internet stalker :)

  4. As your self-proclaimed third-least unreliable reader, I will be sad if you stop writing this here blog. Also, I am willing to accept any and all mail-able baked goods for quick consumption. (<– I almost made that word "consummation," but then I realized that was wrong. Wrong, wrong, wrong.) Just ask me for my address.

  5. is that poster emily ms. emily thompson??? it sure sounds like a sarcastic appetite to me!

    svobo, keep it up!

Leave a Reply

