Boomerang

Ready for a protracted metaphor? Ahem. Life, my beautiful friends, is like a boomerang. No, wait, it’s like a really good rubber band. (btb-the other day I was walking with my parents and my mom stopped abruptly to pick something up…turns out it was a rubber band. “a really good one!” she proclaimed. my dad rolled his eyes, but i was like, wow that IS a good one mom!!! so, turns out i’m exactly like my mother.) You can stretch it out to the limits but eventually you end up back where you started. But maybe a little different, like when you stretch a rubber band and it gets those lines on it. No, god, this is making me think of stretch marks. Ew, pregnant ladies. Ew, children, stability, picket fences, AAAAGGGH. Aborting metaphor. (<—inappropriate use of the word abort?)

Um, what? Was I saying? Oh yeah, my life is some sort of boomerang rubber band hybrid metaphor. Both in that I am apparently exactly like my mother and in that I just keep ending up where I just left off. Like that time I put all my stuff on an eastbound Amtrak and bid farewell to the city I loved only to get a great job opportunity 2 days later and decide to return.

That time, being, incidentally, the current time, like, you know, now-skees. Ahora. Meaning I am moving back to the bay area. In approximately a few days, and only for a few months-ish, maybe?, because, GET THIS (wink wink nudge nudge to the universe here, AWESOME SENSE OF HUMOR my friend): I ALSO got into grad school……on the east coast. Until someone gets the specifics of teleportation worked out (SCIENCE), that means I am playing emotional tug-of-war with San Francisco and New York City for the next few months. WHO WILL WIN????

Anyway, because this blog is allegedly about baking (and cooking, of late), I should put some more emphasis on the kitch. Kat re: Kat is another blog, subtitled, hey, nobody gives a shit!

This is one of those recipes that isn’t the most amazing thing ever because it doesn’t contain: butter, salt, sugar, chocolate, meat, or….like anything delicious really. But it is HEALTHY. Holy fuck is this thing healthy. It contains, by rough approximation, all the spinach in the universe. It’s one of those recipes where you add the physical limitation of spinach, and you think, there ain’t no way I’m going to need more spinach. But then it cooks down to a dime-sized amount and you once again add all the spinach that the wok can contain. And then THAT cooks down and you now have, like, a dollar coin at best (ps-do you know they are making dollar coins other than the sacagawea now? like other old men about whom i care not? like there aren’t enough old fucking old ass men on our coins. we couldn’t have thought of ANY other ladies? i’m going to take my yoga mat and my tofu dinner and my unshaved armpits the hell OUT of this womancoin-less country) and so you repeat this process 3 or 4 times until a reasonable amount of spinach is represented in your dish. It’s THAT kind of recipe. But you should still totally totally make it!

I don’t know, guys! GUYS! I SOUND CRAZY TODAY! I just don’t know if I’ll ever settle down. Except last night I saw a concert and the opening band had the cutest be-hatted, be-bearded, be-plaided keyboardist. Listen, unnamed beardman, I would most likely do anything for you. If you want me to settle down, I will! I’ll stop this boomeranging nonsense and raise plaid children with you!!!! Ok, internet love letter sent, time to eat all the spinach that exists. Over & out!

Tofu Spinach Pot
from Eat to Live

1 lb firm tofu, cubed
1 (10-oz) box frozen spinach (or a million handfuls of fresh spinach
3 green onions, chopped (optional)
3 tomatoes, chopped
2 tbsp lemon juice
1/8 tsp cayenne
1/8 tsp onion powder
1/2 cup vegetable broth

The recipe doesn’t say this, but I like to dry-wok the tofu before stewing everything together. It browns it a bit and evaporates some of the liquid. I also threw the spices in there hoping they’d get absorbed into the tofu a bit. I do not know if this made any difference at all. Essentially you just saute this all together and try to be enthusiastic?

Author: katboda

Hey, cram it.

1 thought on “Boomerang”

  1. Haha amazing!! both to the fact that you’re moving back to SF, and to the food. Well at least one thing is clear my friend and that is your preference for scruffy men!

Leave a Reply

