I choo choo choose couscous.

Well hey! I made it back from Montana, slightly begrudgingly. But you know, players gotta play, or something.

Hey have you ever woken up on a train to find a drunk man spooning you? No? Let me tell you what it’s like. You wake up and you turn around and a drunk man’s face is in your face. He starts complaining about the lack of pillows and not haven’t anything to lean on, and you are at this point at the edge of your seat fiddling with your phone. You know as soon as you lie down he will lie down on you. So, you don’t lie down. You don’t ever lie down. You sit and you fiddle and you wish the time to pass. THEN, drunk man gets impatient. He wants someone to lean on. So he asks you, Hey, can’t you sleep? You say, no, I can’t. Then this conversation transpires:

Drunk man: Hey can I lean on you?
Me: (gathering all my strength) Actually that makes me a little bit uncomfortable? (nice work Kat. really strong words)
Drunk man: (putting his face RIGHT IN MY FACE) I ain’t gonna hurt you, baby
Me: (internally) AAAH! AAAAH!! AAAAHHHH!!

NEEDLESS TO SAY I DID NOT SLEEP ON MY TRAIN RIDE BACK. Drunk man thankfully left me alone after my super stand-up-for-myself response. Who says I am not brave? I sure told HIM.

BUT before the drunk man spooning and the getting stuck in Montana and the hitchhiking and the like, I made this salad to take with me on the train. Mostly it was because I had bought a bunch of beautiful peppers on my last trip to the SF Ferry Building farmer’s market and I needed to use them. I roasted em up and tried to clear out a bunch of stuff on my shelf before I shipped out. As far as odds-and-ends salads go, this one was pretttttty baller.

Except then I got to the station and realized I forgot a spoon. So I made one out of a brochure. A lot of people looked at me strangely. But compared to the ridiculous behavior I witnessed on the train, my brochure-spoon was pretty tame. (One guy, on his way to Reno, was drinking whiskey from a 1/2 gallon bottle like it was water and we were in a desert)

Now I’m off to Key West with my besties. Life is pretty ok. TTYL suckers.

Starlight Express couscous salad
a very complicated original

1 cup cooked couscous (i used whole wheat!)
1 cup chopped roasted peppers
1/3 cup golden raisins
1 15oz can chickpeas, drained
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp cumin
salt & pepper to taste
2 tbsp balsamic vinegar
1 tbsp oil

MIX THEM ALL TOGETHER.

Author: katboda

Hey, cram it.

1 thought on “I choo choo choose couscous.”

Leave a Reply

