Bowl of this

This is a whole lot more health, so I suppose I’ll balance it out with some more “woops-that-beer-went-down-rather-quickly”-related stories. Like losing my scarf one night last week after spending $10 on jukebox songs (No, GUYSS, I GOTTA PLAY THIS ONE MORE SONG, YOU’RE GONNA LOVE IT [cue the 3rd paul simon song of the night, accompanied by lots of jukebox-ward looks and eye-rolls]). And then last night I lost my cardigan. Like, how do you lose a cardigan? Why did I take it off? I woke up on a couch with all my clothes on and my earrings were in my shoes.

Which is to say I need to cut out the saucing a bit. So that’s what I’ma do. Quit imbibing all the time.

I know! Vegetables and sobriety! I feel like the lamest possible version of myself. But you know, there’s more to life than drowning out your misery in alcohol.

Namely, you can get rid of your misery. WHICH IS WHAT I DID. You know how? Well, I quit my job, friends. Just like that. Didn’t like it, didn’t want to do it anymore, saw no future in it, so obviously I stayed in it for about a year after I figured that all out, and then last week I put in my notice.

That’s right, kiddos. I did the one thing I said I was never going to do again: quit my job with no subsequent job lined up. Ha! Ha Ha! Also, I have no money! To speak of! And the money I earn goes to 1) rent 2) all the vegetables that exist and 3) an unwise amount of beer.

Hoping to curb #3, save up a bit before my last day (in 3 weeks), and then…I don’t know. Find another soul-sucking job? Go to school? Finally realize my destiny as a day-shift stripper? I don’t know!!! The world is my oyster.

Now, on to more pressing matters. Namely: does ANYONE HERE know how to shuck an oyster? If so, can you help a girl out? Because, really now, I am at a loss here.

Mushroom Shichimi Rice Bowl
from 101 Cookbooks

2 cups cooked brown rice*
2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
2 tablespoons unsalted butter
2 cloves garlic, very thinly sliced
Fine-grain sea salt

12 ounces / 340 g chanterelles or mushrooms of your choice, sliced ~1/4-inch thick

8 ounces / 225 g firm tofu, cut into tiny cubes
1 small bunch kale / 3 oz / 85 g, well chopped
Shichimi Togarashi or red pepper flakes, to taste  (or i made my own mixture of black sesame seeds, seaweed, salt, pepper, paprika, chopped ginger, and red pepper flakes)

If you need to cook the rice from scratch, do so.*

Heat the olive oil and butter in a large skillet over high heat. Add the mushrooms in a single layer, stir well, and cook until the mushrooms release their liquid, and then brown, about 5 minutes more. Stir a few times along the way, but don’t overdo it; you want the mushrooms to be deeply browned on both sides. Stir in the garlic roughly 20 seconds before the mushrooms finish cooking. If you need to cook the mushrooms in two batches, do so. Transfer the mushrooms to a plate, set aside.

Using the same large skillet, no need to clean it out, cook the tofu along with a couple pinches of salt over medium-high heat until heated through, and until it starts to brown a bit. Roughly one minute before the tofu is finished cooking, stir in the kale. It should collapse and cook down over the next 60 seconds.

Season all the components generously with Shichimi Togarashi and salt to taste. For each serving, dish up a heaping spoonful of brown rice along with some of the tofu/kale mixture and a some of the mushrooms.

Serves 3-4.

*To make a pot of brown rice: The ratio I use to cook brown rice is 1 part rice to (just shy of) 2 parts water, plus a good dose of salt. The following recipe will make more than you need for the above recipe by about double, but it’s worth making extra for later in the week.

You’ll need 2 cups / 14 oz / 400 g brown rice, rinsed and drained + 3 1/2 cups / 830 ml water + 2 teaspoons fine-grain sea salt

In a large saucepan over high heat, bring the rice, water, and salt to a boil. Reduce the heat, cover, and simmer gently until the water is absorbed, about 45 minutes. Fluff with a fork and serve hot. Any leftover rice can be cooled and then stored in the freezer for later use.

Prep time: 15 min – Cook time: 5 min

Author: katboda

Hey, cram it.

3 thoughts on “Bowl of this”

  1. shuck an oyster? grab yourself a paring knife, a dish towel and (for newbies) some of those industrial strength yellow cleaning gloves so you don’t end up in the ER (my mom still makes me wear them when she’s around, but in all honesty, it’s the only way to get a really good grip and not slice a tendon over a stubborn shell).

    hold it upside down (as in curved part in the palm of your hand and flatter side facing you), stick the knife in under the hinge (area where it tapers in) but good (if it’s not wedged in enough, the shell will break) and wiggle it back and forth from side to side a bit (the knife, not the oyster) until you can pop up the shell with a quick motion like turning the keys in the ignition to rev the engine in a getaway car (insert your own metaphor if you like, but i figured given your life choices, this may be the one that best related and would have you nodding your head as if to say “i know exactly what she means”). don’t lose the liquor and use the paring knife to then separate the rest of the shell, which will easily come apart. voila! oyster time!

  2. of course vmaz chimes in immediately with play-by-play instructions. love it. congrats on quitting the shitty job!

Leave a Reply

