I want to be good, is that not enough?

Heyyyy internet. How are you? I’m a tad bedraggled if we’re being honest. If we’re not being honest, I’m good!

So, listen. I know most of you come here for the butter-sugar-flour-self-deprecating-hopelessness combo that is my personal life recipe, but: there have been some changes, as you might’ve guessed from my notable length of silence. Namely, I’m trying to be Good. Don’t worry, not good in the way that would mean me not calling bars on Monday morning to locate my credit card (it was at the Noc Noc). But good in a way that means I literally have not even said hello to my Kitchenaid since before New Year’s. Good in a way that means taking care of myself (when I am not drinking too much beer and walking home at 9am in last night’s ensemble).

The gist is that I’m off white flour and sugar and butter for the month of January. (Besides drunken dominos pizza because, i’m sorry, i’ll never be able to say no to that) WHICH MEANS….vegetables. Lots of fucking vegetables. For the most part I’ve been just throwing them all in a frying pan and eating the result (which is never un-delicious). But last night I decided to impart a bit of structure on my vegetable consuming, and went to my most reliable vegetable experts, the ladies of the Moosewood cookbooks.

This winter curry is totally lovely and spicy and soft. And look, I put a fucking sprig of parsley on it for your aesthetic enjoyment. Don’t even ever say I never did anything for you. So if you’re not interested in healthy fare, you might be disappointed in me for a little while. I take full responsibility. If you still need some Badness from me to survive, I can tell you about that time I stole a tshirt from the storage room at work because I was wearing the same sweater I left in the previous day. Also my underwear were in my purse. LISTEN LIFE IS COMPLICATED.


Winter Curry
adapted from Moosewood New Classics

1 tbsp olive oil
1 1/2 cups onions,  chopped
1 tsp black mustard seed (didn’t have this so i added some mustard powder)
3 cloves garlic, minced
1 tbsp freshly grated ginger
2 tsps cumin
2 tsps ground coriander seed
1/2 tsp cardamom
1/2 tsp salt
1/4 tsp cayenne pepper
4 cups diced potato (i did 1 potato and 1 sweet potato)
4 cups diced butternut squash
1 1/2 cups water or veggie stock
2 cups chickpeas (canned, drained)
2 cups canned tomatoes, diced
2 tbsp lemon juice
2 tbsp chopped cilantro (i used parsley)

heat oil on medium high heat. add mustard seeds until they begin to pop. add onion and sautee until translucent (10 min or so). Meanwhile mix together spices, garlic and ginger. add to onions and stir constantly for 1 min. add potatoes, squash and water. bring to a boil, reduce heat and simmer 15 min. until veggies are just tender. add chickpeas, tomatoes, lemon juice and cilantro. Stir and simmer until flavors are well blended (about 10 min).

Author: katboda

Hey, cram it.

1 thought on “I want to be good, is that not enough?”

  1. I had to re-post this to facebook! It’s so hilarious! (Are you adding a facebook ‘like’ button anytime soon?)

Leave a Reply

