A cake as a cushion

Ever bake a cake to use it as a cushion for the pie you baked that needs to travel 3000 miles across the country in an airplane?

No? That’s not a Thing?

Well, this ginger cake deserves a better title than “pie pillow,” but I must confess that was maybe 50% of its purpose. The other 50% of the reason I made this cake is because I had exactly all of the ingredients required, and my ginger was probably best used before I sauntered off to the east coast for almost a week to celebrate my favorite holiday.

This cake should under no circumstances be eaten without fresh whipped cream or vanilla ice cream. Not that it isn’t lovely on its own, but the heights to which a bit of unobtrusive dairy propel it to, well, it would be a sin not to go there.

So listen I know Christmas and Hannukah are coming up and it’s like Baking Time America, but I might take it easy for a little while. I don’t know, maybe I’ll make some challah or something, I’ve been needing to master that (for my future endearingly-neurotic Jewish husband, or for when Jon Stewart decides to get divorced and shack up with me). And of course once I get home I’ll need to help my grandmother make our traditional Czech cookies. And I mean in general I’m sure I’ll find myself making more baked goods, but I’m just not going to plan it into my week like I usually do.

I know this is like the worst news you’ve ever heard in your life, but with some years of therapy I think you should be able to work through some of these tough emotions.

Fresh Ginger Cake
from A Homemade Life

In a bowl mix together, then set aside:
1 Cup Flour
1/2 tsp Baking Soda
1/4 tsp Salt

In another bowl stir to combine:
1/4 Cup Unsulphered Molasses NOT Black Strap
1/4 Cup Sour Cream
4 Tbsp Melted, Butter cooled slightly
1/4 Cup Light Brown Sugar firmly packed
1 Large Egg
1 Tbsp minced fresh ginger
1/2 tsp Lemon Zest

Add flour mixture and stir until just combined.  Pour into a greased 8″ round pan.  Spread evenly.  Bake in pre-heated 350 oven for 15-20 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean.

Author: katboda

Hey, cram it.

1 thought on “A cake as a cushion”

  1. I mastered challah last easter, slacker. I even used a 5 strand braid. it’s definitely worth the effort.

Leave a Reply

