Sweet&spicy

Just thought I’d keep the theme going because some days there is not enough coffee in existence to make it possible for my brain to come up with a simple thing like a blog post title. If you’re wondering if today is one such day IT REALLY IS IN A BAD WAY.

Anyway, my sister came to visit the other week and bought all the supplies for making chai but never actually made it. So I took advantage, because this Sunday morning I was feeling particularly lifeless and I needed some warm beverage to convince me I was, in fact, still a human being. I had the feeling some spicy chai would awake my dormant soul. At least it would make my mouth tingle a little bit, which is allegedly a sensation that human beings experience. So I embarked on a homemade chai journey. Which is like super easy, if a bit of a time suck.

The only thing you really have to DO is slice some ginger, which is a pretty simple task. Then you just chuck everything in some boiling water and let it do what it does.

There are about a million variations on chai, and this one I just sorta wung. As long as you have ginger, cardamom, and peppercorns I think you are golden. This recipe didn’t call for cinnamon but recently I have been desperately hot for cinnamon and I needed some in there. I think it’s because San Francisco decided to cannonball into fall this week, dropping about 30 degrees and adding like a really fucking unnecessary amount of drear and gloom. But also a thunderstorm, which pleased me greatly.

Also my apartment is cold as a witch’s teat. Seriously, during the “hot days” it is an absolute blessing. But so far this “fall” we have experienced some wretchedly miserable evenings. It’s the kind of cold that just makes you ever-so-slightly uncomfortable and cranky all the time (which, shockingly, is not my neutral state, despite how i may come off on this here blog). It’s not cold enough to be teeth-chattering, but like, everything is the worst, and you live under a pile of blankets on the couch, and doing anything is impossible and why am I alive. I just want to be a bear and hibernate forever.

Chai
adapted from Moosewood New Classics

3 cups boiling water
5 to 6 whole cloves (i used a bit more, love me some fucking cloves dudes)
6 to 8 whole peppercorns
1″ piece of ginger, sliced
1/2 tsp cardamom seeds (i used cardamom pods)
2″ of cinnamon stick (optional)
2 heaping teaspoonfuls or 2 teabags black tea

milk and honey to taste

Boil the water and add all the spices & ginger. Let boil until liquid is reduced to 2 cups, 10-15 minutes. Remove from heat and add tea, let steep 5-6 minutes. Strain and put liquid back into pot. Add honey & milk to your liking.

Author: katboda

Hey, cram it.

1 thought on “Sweet&spicy”

Leave a Reply

