2 things

So there exists cake and there exists pudding and then someone came up with the idea to like, COMBINE them. Because, I don’t know? Because someone knew my roommate would crave chocolate today and ask me to make something real quick-like and I didn’t have eggs and this is the only recipe I found that didn’t require eggs and then it came out of the oven and it was like so fucking lovely? because the top is all crispy? and then right underneath it’s like pudding and cake are really in love and have a lot of kids and host dinner parties and are really HAPPY TOGETHER?!?!?!?

I don’t know, guys. It’s like so hard to exist in this world sometimes, firstly because chocolate pudding cake is a thing that also exists, but also because I tried to change the lightbulbs in our bathroom but they are apparently really fucking particular lightbulbs, the kind you don’t just screw out like normal, and our landlord installed them himself and did a really god damned incomplete job, and now when you try to push the new ones in all that happens is that the whole thing pops out and you get frustrated because it is not something you were prepared to deal with and you like to think of yourself as a handy type (once you fixed a toilet!!!! you went to home depot and found the right parts and you fixed it!!!!!!!!) and this does NOT fit into that definition because the story ends with only 1 of 4 lightbulbs being replaced and IT TOOK ME SO LONG TO GET THE LADDER UP THE STAIRS FROM THE BASEMENT.

And apparently daylight savings time ended, which is nice-ish because my Sunday was an hour longer, but now it’s inching closer to Monday, which is so bad, and also it got dark at like 4 and so I ate dinner at like 5:30 because it had been dark for so long and it felt like I should be eating dinner? but then there was so much TIME left after that where I was sitting on the couch and I was so confused, like, it wasn’t bedtime, but I’d already eaten dinner, and so the only logical thing was to go back to the kitchen and eat more pudding cake, obviously, and also it was raining out and that pudding cake was still WARM and LOVELY, because someone at some point decided to create a recipe that combined pudding and cake in anticipation of me not being able to handle how incredibly wonderful that is on this particular day in November in the year 2010. Because!

Because it is so hard to exist, sometimes, in this world!!! It really is!

Black and White Chocolate Pudding Cake
adapted from The Family Baker (from somewhere, I can’t remember, don’t be mad at me)

butter for preparing pan
1 cup unsifted all-purpose flour
1⅓ cups granulated sugar, divided (⅔ cup and ⅔ cup)
½ cup sifted unsweetened cocoa, preferably dutch-processed, divided (¼ cup and ¼ cup)
2 tsp baking powder
pinch of ground cinnamon
¼ tsp salt
½ cup milk
¼ cup canola or other mild vegetable oil
1 tsp vanilla extract
½-⅔ cup white chocolate, very coarsely chopped
1 cup boiling water

Position a rack in the center of the oven and preheat to 350˚F. Butter a 9″x9″ baking pan and set aside.

In a mixing bowl, combine the flour, ⅔ cup of sugar, ¼ cup of cocoa, baking powder, cinnamon, and salt. Stir to blend, then mix in the milk, oil, vanilla, and white chocolate. The batter will feel quite stiff. Spread it in the baking pan.

In a small bowl, stir together the remaining ¼ cup cocoa with the remaining ⅔ cup sugar. Spread this evenly over the batter in the pan and pour the boiling water on top. DO NOT STIR. (also do not use a silicone pan because you will spill boiling water everywhere, you dummy)

Bake the cake 25 to 30 minutes, or until the top looks crisp and crackled and a cake tester inserted in a cakey area comes out clean. Cool the cake a few minutes, then serve warm, spooned directly from the pan.

Author: katboda

Hey, cram it.

1 thought on “2 things”

  1. So you don’t know me, but I’m a grad student at Davis and know your sister. I’m pretty sure that’s how I came to know of your baking blog, but not sure. Anyway, I often come and read your posts when I need a good laugh or an inspiring recipe and am never disappointed. Keep up the good work! I have a cooking blog of my own that I haven’t posted to in ages due to lack of time, but assuming I resume some day, you could check it out: cookerybookery.wordpress.com.

Leave a Reply

