Blondies the sequel: less doing it wrong

It wasn’t a banner weekend for the kat of this kitch. It involved overheated engines and hitchhiking and auto repair shops and double stuf oreos. But like, a little while ago I tried my luck at blondies again. This time not that ho Martha’s recipe (jk Martha you know I wish I had your prowess), but Dorie’s. Yes we’re all on a first name basis here.

The key difference here was most notably the absence of the mysterious hard-boiled egg taste. Not that I don’t love a hard-boiled egg (though in truth would much prefer soft-boiled). I just don’t want my blondies to taste like I should be putting salt and pepper and/or mayonnaise on them. You dig? I don’t ask for much from my blondies, I really do not. I simply want them to exist and not taste like eggs.

These blondies aced both of those requirements. What helped were the pecans and the butterscotch chips and all the other random deliciousness that I threw in them. What also helped was me not being completely fucking hapless in the kitchen for like 15 hot seconds. Hey, we’re all taking steps forward here, together. Next time let’s not explode our cars on the side of Route 1 in the middle of nowhere and freak out and possibly cry not that I did that I’m 27 years old don’t you think I’m a bit old for tears and besides maybe I wouldn’t have to cry if the entire world wasn’t in some strange plot against my modes of transportation and all the clothing I ever wear to work or cook in or have around food in general. And also I was really tired. Oh forget you.

Chewy Chunky Blondies
from Baking from My Home to Yours

2 cups flour
¾ teaspoon baking powder
½ teaspoon baking soda
½ teaspoon salt
2 sticks (8 ounces) unsalted butter, at room temperature
1-1/2 cups (packed) light brown sugar
½ cup sugar
2 large eggs
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
6 ounces bittersweet or semisweet chocolate, chopped into chips or 1 cup store bought chocolate chips
1 cup butterscotch chips or Heath Toffee Bits
1 cup coarsely chopped walnuts (this nutty bitch used pecans!)
1 cup sweetened shredded coconut

Center a rack in the oven and preheat the oven to 325 degrees F. Butter a 9” x 13” baking pan and put it on a baking sheet.

Whisk together the flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.

Working with a stand mixer, preferably fitted with a paddle attachment, or with a hand mixer in a large bowl, beat the butter on medium speed until smooth and creamy. Add both sugars and beat for another 3 minutes, or until well incorporated. Add the eggs one by one, beating for 1 minute after each addition, then beat in the vanilla. Reduce the mixer speed to low and add the dry ingredients, mixing just until they disappear into the batter. Using a rubber spatula, stir in the chips, nuts, and coconut. Scrape the batter into the buttered pan and use the spatula to even the top as best as you can.

Bake for about 40 minutes, or until a knife inserted into the center of the blondies comes out clean. The blondies should pull away from the sides of the pan a little and the top should be a nice honey brown. Transfer the pan to a rack and cool for about 15 minutes before turning the blondies out onto another rack. Invert onto a rack and cool the blondies to room temperature right side up.

Author: katboda

Hey, cram it.

One thought on “Blondies the sequel: less doing it wrong”

  1. your tears make me want to cry. or maybe it’s the pinched nerve in my back. i’m a little worried about our wedding cake project(s) what with all these mishaps.

Leave a Reply

