Oh just some more pickles

Well these aren’t my favorite pickles ever ever ever, but they are the crunchiest ones I’ve made to date. I think the issue is that I used apple cider vinegar, desperately, realizing halfway through the recipe that I didn’t have regular ol’ white vinegar on hand. So essentially what I’m saying is that my life is a MadLibs story that can play out as follows.

Today I tried to make   (food item) , but I got halfway through and realized I didn’t have   (essential ingredient) . Oh and also, this morning I spilled (food item) on my (article of clothing) at work. Then I ran into (guy who dicked me over) with his new (name for any level of female companion) . Then I came home and ate a whole bunch of (food item) because I LOOOVE (food item), it’s sooo delicious it’s like my faaaavorite. Oh also you know what is confusing to me? (Anything). Am I right???

But hey, these pickles are crunchy and pickly! Maybe with white vinegar they’d be worthy of way too many exclamation points. As it stands I am happy I made them, happy to have consumed them, really jazzed about their texture, and also quite pleased with their coloration. But I am not falling out of my seat with praise over these pickles.

So if you’ll excuse me I’m going to (verb) some (noun)s and then probably regret it later. Peace out you (adjective) readers.

Spicy Refrigerator Pickles (no boiling!)
from AllRecipes

8 3 to 4 inch long pickling cucumbers
1-1/3 cups water
1 cup and 3 tablespoons white vinegar
1 cup chopped fresh dill weed
1/3 cup white sugar
5 cloves garlic, chopped
1 tablespoon coarse salt
2 teaspoons pickling spice
1 teaspoon dill seed
1/4 teaspoon red pepper flakes, or to taste
2 sprigs fresh dill weed

In a large bowl, combine the cucumbers, water, vinegar, chopped dill, sugar, garlic, salt, pickling spice, dill seed, and red pepper flakes. Stir, and let stand at room temperature for 2 hours, until the sugar and salt dissolve.
Remove the cucumbers to three 1 1/2 pint wide mouth jars, placing 4 cucumbers into each jar. Ladle in the liquid from the bowl to cover. Place a sprig of fresh dill into each jar, and seal with lids. Refrigerate for 10 days before eating. Use within 1 month.

Author: katboda

Hey, cram it.

2 thoughts on “Oh just some more pickles”

  1. fucking hilarious svobo… some of your best work yet – i thoroughly enjoyed the madlibs of your life… my enjoyment weirded rob out a bit when he saw me sitting at my computer, with a weird smile, chuckling to myself every two seconds. now, hopefully i’ll enjoy some pickles!

  2. btw, i kept thinking my comment didn’t post until i saw it was awaiting moderation… my next thought was oh fuck! i used the word fuck – it’ll NEVER clear moderation… then i realized the moderator was you and my mind was at ease.

Leave a Reply

