Scrappy pie

Ever roll out a pie crust and realize you have like…half a pie worth of scraps? That happens to me almost every time. I’m not sure if it’s because I roll my crusts really thin or if the recipe is just super generous in case of screw ups? Regardless, there are just many occasions when I am standing in front of a substantial amount of pie dough scrap. I AM NOT ASHAMED TO ADMIT that on more than one occasion I have scarfed the shit out of those scraps. Literally, desperate shoving of raw pie dough into my pie hole.

And yet, this time, I exhibited a modicum of self control. Because hi, we’ve talked about this. Supposedly I am on the cusp of figuring-shit-out (allegedly!!), and I think part of that is learning how to control myself in the presence of raw pie dough. So anyway, I had this brilliant idea to just make a quick free-form rustic pie. And then I spied an apple that was like 2 minutes from the border of Mealytown. And I had all this extra caramel lying around from the bread pudding. And so, what the hay, let’s throw them all together, right?

I don’t know, it wasn’t the best rustic pie that’s ever been made. I certainly could’ve tossed the apple slices with some cinnamon or sugar or whatever, and on top of that it was a Fuji apple, which is NOT a baking apple my friends, so the texture and flavor didn’t exactly make me cream my jeans. But you know? It’s several steps up from me standing at the counter eating raw pie dough. So, baby steps toward being a legitimate human being. Baby steps.

Scrapple Pie
this is not even a real recipe

1 apple, peeled cored and sliced
scraps of pie dough
something sweet, like extra caramel, or a few tbsps of sugar
possibly some cinnamon, i don’t even know, maybe you don’t dig cinnamon really

Preheat the oven to 350. Toss the apples with the sugar and cinnamon if that’s the route you’re taking. Roll out the dough. Spread the apple slices around in some random or meaningful manner, whichever you prefer. If you’re using caramel, this is where I put it on. Cinch up the sides so that they make a little bit of a border. Cook it for like…40 minutes in the oven? Until crust is kinda golden? Top with more caramel because it look gooood.

Author: katboda

Hey, cram it.

One thought on “Scrappy pie”

Leave a Reply

