MOREBREAD

I made this OTHER loaf the same night I made the strawberry-banana loaf. God, I keep typing “load” instead of “loaf.” (I JUST DID IT AGAIN writing that last one in quotes, fucking unbelievable) This one’s better by leaps and bounds: incredibly moist (thanks to some almond flour) and interrupted in the best way by raspberries–like maybe you’re chatting and having a nice conversation and then someone runs up to you and taps you on the shoulder and is like “SORRY TO INTERRUPT BUT I JUST NEEDED TO HAND YOU THIS $200!”  THAT kind of interruption.

I’ve recovered from my depression over US soccer. In a way, it’s better this way. I prefer being let down earlier rather than investing even more hope in them only to be let down later when I care way too much. It’s a philosophy I’ve adapted for regular life as well, one that some people refer to as “pessimistic.” I’m no pessimist, friends. I’m just a girl who, more often than not, spills something on her shirt, for example. So why should I ever enter a meal-type situation thinking I’m not going to spill something on myself? That would be naive of me, and I’d be wholly disappointed when it inevitably happened. So if I go in thinking, well, I’m probably going to ruin this shirt in the next hour, and then I DON’T ruin the shirt, I feel good! And then if I do, no biggie. I was prepared for this. I had already experienced the sadness of losing the shirt to the cold unrelenting grip of tomato sauce. It’s a simple philosophy, folks.

So, you know. In that vein, I wasn’t expecting much from this raspberry almond bread, and I was pleasantly surprised. Which is nice. It’s nice to be pleasantly surprised instead of horribly let down. DO YOU SEE WHAT I’M TELLING YOU HERE MY FRIENDS? EXPECTATIONS ARE THE EASIEST WAY TO GET LET DOWN TIME AFTER TIME AFTER TIME AFTER TIME. God when I get all capsy it seems a lot sadder than it seems in my head. So. Now that you’ve seen into my poor tired soul and all…well. I’ve done my job here. Alright. Cool. Bed time. Laters.

Raspberry Almond Bread
from the Best Bake Sale Cookbook Ever

2 cups all-purpose flour (i used 1 1/2 cups all purpose and 1/2 cup almond flour)
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, softened
1 cup sugar
1/2 teaspoon pure almond extract
2 eggs
2 Tablespoons sour cream (i used yogurt)
1 cup crushed fresh raspberries or strawberries or blueberries (i used defrosted frozen)
1/3 cup toasted slivered almonds

Preheat oven to 325 degrees F. Spray or grease a 9 x 5-inch loaf pan.
In a medium bowl, whisk together the flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt. Set aside.
In a large bowl, using an electric mixer, cream the butter, sugar and almond extract until light and fluffy, about 3 minutes. Beat in the eggs one at a time, beating well after each addition. Mix in the flour and sour cream. Fold in the crushed fruit and almond slivers.
Spoon the batter into the prepared pan. Bake in the center of the oven for 55 to 60 minutes, or until a cake tester inserted into the center comes out clean.
Cool the bread in the pan for 20 minutes, then invert onto a wire rack, turn right side up and cool completely.

Author: katboda

Hey, cram it.

Leave a Reply

