I don’t know, I guess this bread is okay

Ugh, I had to rewrite this ENTIRE POST because I failed to publish it before today. Which is to say, I failed to publish it before I watched the USA soccer team fall to Ghana, which was thoroughly depressing. Just so you know, readers: I love soccer. I am a half-hearted fan of every other sport (including track, which should be “my” sport–but there is only so much drug use I can handle without feeling sad). I am technically a Mets fan, but my heart’s not in it anymore. Same goes for the Knicks (don’t even get me STARTED) and I just flat out can’t love football. But soccer. Oh, soccer. I was invested.

These are my boyeeez! I felt so much hope for them. I wanted them to win because I wanted them to be happy. Watching Donovan score that goal against Algeria literally brought tears to my eyes. I cared. I read up on them. I know their life stories. I am a USA Soccer Fan. And then they lost, and it made me feel hollow.

So. That’s why I can’t be a fan of all sports, because how the hell would I ever get anything done? This post used to say things about other stuff. But now all I can think about is how much I wanted us to win, and how much we didn’t. And this strawberry banana bread was just kind of OK–like Jozy Altidore’s effort in the Ghana game (you’re BETTER THAN THAT, Joze). I know it could be amazing, but it wasn’t. There was no umph there. There was no sparkle. No energy. So. There’s THAT too.

But next time, I’m in the mood to kinda hit one out of the park. Time to pick myself up, dust myself off, and stick my nose in a bunch of cookbooks. TTYL, internet.

Strawberry-Banana Bread
adapted from joyofbaking who adpated it from Oregon’s Cuisine of the Rain

1/2 cup (1 stick) (113 grams) unsalted butter, melted
3/4 cup (160 grams) light brown sugar
2 large eggs, lightly beaten
1 teaspoon (4 grams) pure vanilla extract
2 large ripe bananas, mashed (about 1 cup)  (i used 3)
1 cup (240 ml) fresh strawberries(cut into bite sized pieces)
2 1/4 cups (295 grams) all-purpose flour
1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon (4 grams) ground cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon (2.5 grams) salt

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (177 degrees C).  Position rack in center of oven. Butter a 9×5″ bread pan.

In a small saucepan melt the butter.  Set aside.

In a medium sized bowl whisk together the brown sugar, eggs, vanilla extract and mashed banana. Add the melted butter to the brown sugar mixture and stir to combine.

In another large bowl combine the flour, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon, and salt. Gently fold in the berries, making sure they are coated with flour. This helps to prevent the berries from sinking during baking. Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients and stir only until the ingredients are just combined. Do not over mix the batter or tough muffins will result.

Pour the batter into the greased bread pan. Place in the oven and bake until a tester inserted in the center of the loaf comes out clean, 45 to 50 minutes. Transfer to a wire rack to cool.

Author: katboda

Hey, cram it.

2 thoughts on “I don’t know, I guess this bread is okay”

Leave a Reply

