Brownies have the fun, it turns out

So, brownies are better than blondies. There, I said it. Chocolate, you win. You always win, though, so this is probably not that exciting for you. You’re the fucking Meryl Streep of baked goods. People love you, they want to see you in everything. They need you. They seek you out in times of despair. You solve problems and are revered. It must feel nice. Does it feel nice, chocolate? Does it??

Right, so, I’m speaking to a food item. I realize this. I’m so tired, internet. I’ve been getting up early to watch soccer games for a week now. Last Saturday I was at a bar at 7am. 7am. By myself. At a bar. At 7am. Drinking a bloody mary. By myself. Yes, I’m That Girl.

And on top of being That Girl, I kinda thought I was hot shit throwing some fresh cherries into these brownies. I was all, check out THIS MOVE. You guys haven’t even seen the BEGINNING of my culinary genius. But to be honest, I think it was a waste. I think dried cherries have a lot of business being in a brownie, but the fresh cherries didn’t have enough ZING. They were just…wet. And vaguely sweet. And unnecessary, because the brownies themselves are very wet and fudgy. They’re the fucking fudgiest. Fudge fudge fudge.

Welp. I’m just going to wrap this one up. Seems like the right thing to do, on account of all the nonsense and the phoning it in and the general uselessness of this post. See you later.

Brownies
from Tartine

3/4 c butter
1 lb. bittersweet chocolate, coarsely chopped
3/4 cup plus 2 tbsp all purpose flour
2 cups light brown sugar
5 eggs
1/2 tsp salt
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 cup chopped pecans (optional)

Preheat oven to 350F. Line the bottom and sides of a 9″x13″ pan with parchment paper.

In a saucepan, melt the butter over low heat. Remove from heat and add the chocolate to melt. Stir until fully melted and set aside to cool.

Sift the flour into a small bowl. In another bowl, combine the eggs, sugar, salt and vanilla. Beat on high until the mixture becomes pale and thick, about 4-5 minutes. With a spatula, fold the cooled chocolate into the egg mixture. Add the flour and fold it in gently so that you don’t deflate the air that’s been incorporated into the eggs.

4. Pour the batter into the prepared dish and smooth out the top. Sprinkle the chopped pecans evenly on top. Bake until the top looks slightly cracked and feels soft to the touch, about 25-28 minutes. Remove and cool completely in the pan. Refrigerate overnight. With a sharp knife the next day, cut into 12 squares.

Author: katboda

Hey, cram it.

Leave a Reply

