Ice cream cake what what

Do you like coffee, reader? I confess I did not always, and I still don’t fully. To be entirely honest, I still can’t drink it without cutting it with milk or cream first. I am just not that cooooool. I don’t wear skinny jeans or ray bans or read faulkner just for fun (come to think of it, i never read faulkner for a class either) and I can’t drink my coffee black and I’m sorry but I really don’t appreciate most jazz (part II a from the koln concert by keith jarrett excepted).

Coffee ice cream, however, is a completely different situation. Completely different. Coffee ice cream is all milk and cream and dairy loveliness and sweet sweet sugar with a liiiiiiiiittle bit of coffee flavor. It’s fantastic.

It’s in my top 5 ice cream flavors. It might even be the only non-fruit in the top 5. No, that’s not true. Mint chocolate chip exists, after all. Anyway, without having to think through my top 5 with you, let’s settle on: it’s delicious. And I MADE SOME. From my 2nd favorite coffee in San Francisco, which is still very excellent coffee (San Francisco excels at several things: cold summer nights, the noble “every man in a plaid shirt” fight, burritos, making you feel bad for forgetting your reusable grocery bags at home, and coffee)

Not ONLY did I make delicious coffee ice cream (and delicious raspberry ice cream from last post), but I combined them into…a HOMEMADE ICE CREAM CAKE. Based loosely on Carvel, however with snottier results. I used cat cookies for people (you know the ones…from Trader Joe’s? the ones i cannot have in my house ever because i eat them all in one sitting and my friends they come in a VERY LARGE TUB) mixed with melted butter in place of the “chocolate crunchies” Carvel puts in the center. Can I use this moment to profess my undying love for Carvel ice cream cakes? I don’t even care what it makes me. I love them in all of their too-sweet, chocolate-crunchied, cool-whip-frostinged delight. My homemade version was my favorite of the 3 cakes I made, I would even say BY FAR. It tasted like a raspberry mocha. A cold creamy raspberry mocha. I wanted it to last forever. But, like my 26th year, it has come to an end. Dear 27: cut a girl some slack, eh? Love, Trina.

Coffee Ice Cream
from The Perfect Scoop

1 1/2 cups whole milk
3/4 cup sugar
1 1/2 cups whole coffee beans
Pinch of salt
1 1/2 cups heavy cream
5 large egg yolks
1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/4 teaspoon finely ground coffee

Heat the milk, sugar, whole coffee beans, salt, and 1/2 cup of the cream in a medium saucepan until it is quite warm and steamy, but not boiling. Once the mixture is warm, cover, remove from the heat, and let steep at room temperature for 1 hour.

Pour the remaining 1 cup of cream into a medium size metal bowl, set on ice over a larger bowl. Set a mesh strainer on top of the bowls. Set aside.

Reheat the milk and coffee mixture, on medium heat, until again hot and steamy. In a separate bowl, whisk the egg yolks together. Slowly pour the heated milk and coffee mixture into the egg yolks, whisking constantly so that the egg yolks are tempered by the warm milk, but not cooked by it. Scrape the warmed egg yolks back into the saucepan.

Stir the mixture constantly over medium heat with a heatproof, flat-bottomed spatula, scraping the bottom as you stir, until the mixture thickens and coats the spatula so that you can run your finger across the coating and have the coating not run. This can take about 10 minutes.

Pour the custard through the strainer and stir it into the cream. Press on the coffee beans in the strainer to extract as much of the coffee flavor as possible. Then discard the beans. Mix in the vanilla and finely ground coffee, and stir until cool.

Chill the mixture thoroughly in the refrigerator, then freeze it in your ice cream maker according to the manufacturer’s instructions.

Makes one quart.

Author: katboda

Hey, cram it.

2 thoughts on “Ice cream cake what what”

  1. I drink my coffee black. It’s all I have, so yes, i make sure everyone knows about it. Which is why i’m writing it here.

    But also, this was my favorite of the three cakes by FAR. I made an exception just for you, put my ultimate coolness aside, and have to say I really enjoyed milky frozen coffee…but none of this makes any sense because you can’t make black coffee ice cream cake. Or can you? Thinking….nope. No, you can’t. But maybe you can make black coffee cake. Hmm? Think about it.

Leave a Reply

