These are the jam. Bars I’ve been telling you about.

Actually I probably haven’t told you about these jam bars. But now I am. I didn’t until I did. That’s usually how it works, right? I went to my sister’s place (a place of no kitchenaid!) and she had a huge jar of raspberry rhubarb jam left over from the summer so we decided to use it. The jam!

I like when people say things are “the jam.” That phrase is very pleasing to me. There are a whole host of things that are the jam, up to and including jam bars. And not only because jam is in the title. I mean, that has a lot to do with it for sure. But there are other really nice things in jam bars as well. Butter. Sugar. Flour. You get it. We all get it.

I’m sorry, I’m not super enthused today. Sometimes writing a blog can feel very contrived. I try hard to be honest with you all here. And I write pretty much how I talk, except insert FAUX LOUD VOICE for caps and eyes widened and emphasis for italics and noticeably. clipped. words. and. long. pauses. between. them. for periods in sentences and This Is Important voice for random capitalizations. You’re just lucky I didn’t try to write this yesterday, when I was in a MOOD.

I was all, eff this ess. Screw men, they’re douchebags. Eff work, it’s boring. Shut up random stranger, I don’t want to hear about your nail appointment. Eat a D, car that almost clipped me as I stood on the corner. Take it up the butt, tea, for tasting kind of bitter today. Go eff yourself men, once more, just for fun. Get out of my way B, learn to walk with heels or wear flats. You’re ugly anyway. You’re all ugly. And mean. And leave me alone! And….aw, a puppy! But all the rest of you! Shame on you! You don’t give enough to charity! You’re not nice enough! You think your baby is cuter than it is! You were an asshole to that nerdy kid in 5th grade! You put on too much perfume! You’re not humble enough! Who cares about your job! I don’t give a dick where you went to business school! STOP TALKING!

It was one of those days. But the lesson here, because I always like to bring it back to the LEARNING, you know, is this: even on those days, where you rage against pretty much the entire world for no real good reason (save for puppies, because WHO’S A GOOD DOG??), jam bars are still really great. They are. The Jam. Eat them. And then eat a dick, you jerk.

Strawberry-Rhubarb Jam Bars (Raspberry-Rhubarb Remix)
from The Kitchen Sink

1 3/4 sticks unsalted butter, at room temperature, divided
1/3 cup sugar
2 cups flour, divided
3/8 teaspoon fine-grain sea salt, divided
1 1/2 cups strawberry-rhubarb jam (we used raspberry rhubarb)
1/3 cup brown sugar
1/8 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 cup quick-cooking oats
2 teaspoons lemon zest

Preheat the oven to 350. Grease a 9-inch square pan.

In a stand mixer, beat the 1 1/2 sticks of butter and 1/3 cup of sugar until light and fluffy. In a medium bowl, whisk together 1 1/2 cups flour and 1/8 teaspoon of salt. Add the flour mixture to the butter mixture in the stand mixer and beat until incorporated. Using floured hands, gather the butter mixture into a ball in the mixer bowl. Press the dough into the bottom of the prepared pan. Bake for 20 minutes, or until the crust has begun to brown at the edges. Remove from the oven to cool slightly while preparing the remaining ingredients.

In the bowl of a food processor, combine the remaining 1/4 stick of butter, 1/2 cup flour, 1/4 teaspoon salt and the brown sugar, soda, oats and lemon zest. Pulse until the mixture becomes crumbly.

Spread the 1 1/2 cups of jam over the baked crust. Sprinkle the oat mixture on top of the jam. Bake for 30 minutes or until the oat topping has become golden.

Author: katboda

Hey, cram it.

3 thoughts on “These are the jam. Bars I’ve been telling you about.”

  1. I laughed out loud on this one, coincidentally disturbing Luke’s VERY important phone call with his advisor. …which made me laugh louder because I thought, “eff you boy, and eat a D advisor man.”

Leave a Reply

