I like these cookies (and happy winter solstice)

Internet users, I am 26 and a half and I know what I like. This is partially because I am now really fucking certain what I DON’T like. Thank you to those humans who have shown me what I don’t like. MUCH APPRECIATED, dudes.

But honestly. Here I am. Sliding my way towards 27. And I know that I like walking at night after it has snowed, when the streets are plowed but still pretty icy. I like that I grew up in a town small enough that I can run and slide and dance my way home on those icy streets and not pass one car. I like the idea of someone seeing my goofy ass from the window of their house, and possibly bringing a smile to their face. I like misjudging the slickness of a certain section of the road and completely eating it. I like rolling around in the snow for a bit, laughing about how I just ate it and no one was there to see it.

I like identifying with song lyrics, even though that sometimes makes me feel like I’m still in middle school. I like running in the cold. I like running in the rain. I like running in the cold rain. I like sitting by a fire, indoors or out. I like my roommates. I like flowers I’ve bought for myself. I like people who open up to me without me having to ask. I like slide tackling. I like when the drums come in. I like hugging someone who is wearing a puffy vest.

I like chili con carne with cheddar cheese and sour cream. I like fleece socks. I like old plates and new mugs. I like wood carvings. I like drinking wine with girl friends. I like drinking beer with boy friends. I like baking. I like baking alone and I like baking with other people. I like when people say my name when they say hello.

I like holding hands. I like looking people in the eyes. I like playing board games with friends. I like dancing to music while I cook. I like a blank crossword puzzle and I like a completed one. I like when people call me on the phone instead of text me. I like when people text me. I like when people just text me to say hello. I like the smell of bread yeast. I like when someone else takes the pictures. I like eggnog. I like making something for someone. I like when my nose and cheeks get cold. I like putting lotion on right after a shower. I like men in plaid shirts.

I like feasting on the winter solstice (which is TODAY, HAPPY WINTER SOLSTICE EVERYONE). And I like these cookies. My god do I like these cookies.

Triple Ginger Cookies
from 101 Cookbooks (i like 101 cookbooks.)

NOTES FROM HEIDI: Feel free to use all-purpose flour if that is what you have on hand. Again, in regards to the ginger – mince it as if you were trying to turn it into a paste. Two sugar coating. In my most recent batch of these I used a big, flaked, smoked sea salt along with sugar to finish the cookies, so that is something to experiment with as well, but totally optional. I grind whole star anise in my spice grinder and then do a bit of sifting.

1/2+ cup large-grain sugar (i.e. turbinado)

2 cups spelt flour OR whole wheat pastry flour
1 teaspoons baking soda
1 teaspoon star anise, finely ground
4 1/2 teaspoons ground ginger
1/2 teaspoon fine grain sea salt

1 stick (1/2 cup) unsalted butter, room temperature
1/4 cup unsulphured molasses
2/3 cup fine grain natural cane sugar, sifted
1 1/2 tablespoons fresh ginger, peeled and grated
1 large egg, well beaten
1 cup crystallized ginger, then finely minced
2 lemons, zest only

Preheat the oven to 350F degree – racks in the top and bottom 1/3 of the oven. Line a couple baking sheets with unbleached parchment paper or a Silpat mat, place the large-grain sugar in a small bowl, and set aside.

In a large bowl whisk together the flour, baking soda, star anise, ground ginger, and salt.

Heat the butter in a skillet until it is just barely melted. Stir in the molasses, natural cane sugar, and fresh ginger. The mixture should be warm, but not hot at this point, if it is hot to touch let it cool a bit. Whisk in the egg. Now pour this over the flour mixture, add the crystallized ginger (make sure it isn’t too clumpy), and lemon zest. Stir until just combined.

I like these cookies tiny, barely bite-sized, so I scoop out the dough in exact, level tablespoons. I then tear those pieces of dough in two before rolling each 1/2 tablespoon of dough into a ball shape. From there, grab a small handful of the big sugar you set aside earlier and roll each ball between your palms to heavily coat the outside of each dough ball. Place dough a few inches apart on prepared baking sheets. Bake for 7-10 minutes or until cookies puff up, darken a bit, get fragrant and crack.

Makes about 4 dozen or so.

Author: katboda

Hey, cram it.

3 thoughts on “I like these cookies (and happy winter solstice)”

  1. OMFG. I should’ve read this before I actually made the cookies. You forgot to put the lemon and ginger in my recipe (or maybe you didn’t, lol). Mine came out hard and slightly burnt, and i only let them cook for 9 minutes, sans the sugar coating. Maybe it was my oven… can’t wait to try again! Hope you’re having fun in the right coast. I will call u when I come to NYC!

  2. I really like that you’ve done two ginger recipes in a row. HUGE ginger fan here. I made some chocolate ginger cookies (a Martha recipe) for thanksgiving and am looking forward to trying one of these out!

Leave a Reply

