The thought that counts

So, do you want to hear how my diet is going? It involves days subsisting entirely on cookies and cupcakes. It involves cannolis. It involves binge drinking 3 weeknights in a row. Basically it involves me being the worst at being on a diet ever, and so, henceforth, diet is officially over. I would say it was a valiant effort, but that would be a lie.

But listen, this recipe is full of health and red and green and it’s like “The Holidays” so maybe you should seriously consider making it. But, learn from my mistakes first. Like, don’t think you’re smart using wonton wrappers as a quick ravioli casing. It don’t work. They’re too thin and floppy and completely unsatisfying.             That’s what she said.

So maybe get some real ravioli pasta. Or make some if you’re feeling adventurous. I would’ve, but I’m a lazy piece of shit. You know how it is.

The filling is super easy though. I roasted some beets, then mashed them with some ricotta cheese. Then I sauteed the beet greens with some onion and a tiny bit of veggie stock (and salt and pepper). Then I drained those and chopped them up and mixed them in with the beets.

A little parmesan cheese in there and you’re on your way to a holiday-appropriate dinner. I mean, I think. Can I be honest? I made these a while ago. I have no idea what the fuck went into them. All I know is I ate them and they were pretty ok, minus the wonton wrapper issue. Sooooo. There it is.

Beet Ravioli
from yours truly, but I swear it’s actually not bad (i just wrote bed. freudian slip)

3-4 beets, roasted until soft
1/2 cup ricotta cheese
beet greens from 3-4 beets, chopped
1/4 cup veggie stock
1 shallot or 1/2 cup chopped onion (or more, whatever)
salt & pepper to taste
1/4 cup parmesan cheese

Mash the beets and mix them with the ricotta cheese. Add salt and pepper to taste.

In a frying pan, saute the onions in some oil until they are translucent. Add the beet greens & stir. Pour in the veggie stock and mix to combine. Cover and let simmer until the greens are wilted, about 5 minutes. I drained and then chopped the greens again after they cooked, but you don’t have to. I just wanted them to be finely minced for the filling. Stir the chopped greens mixture into the beet mixture. Place a dollop of filling on each ravioli round. Wet the edges and press to seal.

Cook in gently boiling water for 3-4 minutes. Drain and serve with sauce, or cheese, or nothing, it’s your call.

Author: katboda

Hey, cram it.

Leave a Reply

