Putting the coffee in turkish coffee cake cookie bars

Lately this blog has been reading less like a mature 26-year-old’s journey through a baking life and more like a hormonal 16-year-old’s journey through the neuroses of her first relationship. I apologize. I’ve been swinging pretty recklessly on the mood swingset. These days I’m evening out a bit. Let’s bring it back to the baked goods. No more mention of my personal views on any of the following: 1) men 2) men being disappointments 3) sociopaths 4) why you, yes you, guy, the one bothering me while I enjoy this book on the steps at lunch, shouldn’t bother, really, because I no longer have the patience to deal with what will inevitably be your inability to participate in a functional relationship because of a) your parents’ divorce that you never fully dealt with b) that one girl that messed you up that one time c) that idiotic feeling you have that this is the time in your life when you need to really “figure things out.” Oh shit, I did it again. Last one, I promise. Henceforth: coffee cake talk.

turkish coffee cake cookie bars 1

Usually coffee cake is overly sweet and topped with sugar and butter chunks and probably the type of thing you eat to balance out your coffee (black please because i’m a dude who likes things real simple and yet, somehow, i cannot figure out basic human emotion, HONESTLY). But not this Turkish coffee cake. This coffee cake has coffee in it. A shitload. Wait, time out. Can we talk about how every. single. time. I try to type “coffee” I type “coffe.” Muscle memory, ENGAGE. For goodness sake.

turkish coffee cake cookie bars 2

So my coworker asks me at work, what makes this Turkish? And I was like…I have no idea. I guess there is supposed to be Turkish coffee in it, but I do not have Turkish coffee, so I put in instant espresso. So I guess this isn’t Turkish at all. Unless there is something else about it that makes it Turkish. I don’t really know anything about Turkey, to be honest. Except that apparently they have distinctive coffee. And those delights. I’ve had them, they are kinda delightful. And also–no joke–I am half-watching Man vs. Wild in the background as I type this and he’s in the Turkish Mountains. So now I know what those kinda look like.

turkish coffee cake cookie bars 3

Allow me to sum up. This is a Tassajara Bread Book recipe. I love this cookbook, I really do. I know everything in it is going to be super non-fussy and earthy and relatively healthy. This is no exception. I think it’s a really lovely coffee cake cookie bar. I mean that. I think you should make it. Even if you’re emotionally stunted. ESPECIALLY if you’re emotionally stunted.¬† **(Just kidding, every man I’ve ever dated who may or may not think this is about him)

turkish coffee cake cookie bars 4

Turkish Coffee Cake Cookie Bars
from the Tassajara Bread Book

2 cups whole wheat flour
1 cup brown sugar
2 tbsps Turkish-type coffee or powdered instant coffee
2 tsps cinnamon
1/2 tsp freshly grated nutmeg
1/4 tsp allspice or ground coriander (optional–i used allspice)
1/2 cup butter or margarine
1 cup sour cream (i used plain yogurt)
1 egg, beaten
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 cup chopped nuts
4 oz chocolate chips (optional)

Preheat oven to 350. Mix together the flour, sugar, coffee, and spices, then cut in the butter with a pastry cutter until crumbly. PRess half of this mixture into a 9×13-inch pan. Mix the remaining half with the sour cream, egg, soda, and chopped nuts. If using chocolate chips, sprinkle them over the crust in the pan. Pour the batter on top of the crust. Bake at 350 for 25-30 minutes, until the middle is springy.

SEE HOW EASY?

Author: katboda

Hey, cram it.

3 thoughts on “Putting the coffee in turkish coffee cake cookie bars”

  1. Don’t you DARE stop the man-bashing. I hate ’em and never want to waste my time building up a relationship ONLY TO BE TORN APART when he a) decides to grow marijuana in our apartment, b) breaks up with me over Facebook after 2 yrs and my friend in Vienna notices before ME, and breaks the news, because he and i are not even facebook friends at that point in our shitty relationship, and all i have left to show for my turmoil is a sweet goodwill t-shirt i stole when i was doing his laundry once. at a restraining order.

    I love food, too. Food and man-bashing. I like to read your blog aloud to anyone in earshot. Don’t you quit. and what happened to your precious dog, I wonder.

  2. They really are asstards, the whole lot of them, aren’t they? Alright, I won’t stop the man-bashing, but I’ll try to keep it to parentheticals from now on. They’re really getting more blog space than they deserve.

  3. Don’t get me wrong, I love all your posts, but I’ve been partial to these last few because it sounds like the college post-track dinner days all over again. What’s better than that? Nothing. I entirely agree with Steph (hi Steph!!), man-bashing is completely necessary. And it makes me smile and laugh when your boat is rocked, that’s meant in the best way possible. Don’t worry, give me a few months and I’ll hopefully be there to help smooth the sailing. Love you both!

Leave a Reply

