These bite.

Well, no. They’re ok. But they’re not awesome, MARTHA. (we’re not going to talk about martha in this post anymore).  I was testing them out as possible cookies to bake for an upcoming conference. I thought the light espresso flavor and chocolate ganache filling would be a nice lil snack. WRONG.

cappuccino-chocolate bites 1

These were fucking fussy. And the cookie was on the flavorless side. And they didn’t stay crunchy for long, which made for soggy and sandy cookies, a very odd combination. They fell flat. On their little faces. Like me in a soccer game every 10 minutes or so.

cappuccino-chocolate bites

But piping ganache into sandwich cookies? That’s the kind of thing mama likes. So we tried it. We did. We wanted to embrace the fussiness and find that fussiness=excellent end product.

cappuccino-chocolate bites

But they just didn’t cut it. The comments I got on this cookie were as follows:

Not sweet enough
Too floury

Not the kind of endorsements you want on a final product that ate the better part of your Sunday morning.

cappuccino-chocolate bites

They’re cute though, right? It’s one of those life lessons, people. Cuteness can’t carry cookies. GOD I LOVE IT WHEN I HAPPEN UPON ALLITERATIONS ACCIDENTALLY. I nerd out a little. I write it and then I smile and kinda look around to see if there’s anyone near me with whom I can share this wonderful news but of course it’s just me and my computer so I just kinda smile to myself for like 15 seconds and then go back to typing. Which surprises you immensely, I can tell.

cappuccino-chocolate bites 4

Here’s the conclusion paragraph, wherein I wrap up my general thesis and make a final statement. Here goes, English 114 professor I think your name was Kathy something: These tiny and delicate cookies, although promising in both fun potential and flavor combination, failed to provide adequate end results to make up for their staggeringly apparent downfalls, and I don’t recommend you make these with any sort of high hopes or read the book 100 Years of Solitude because I tried to read that book like four separate times and man I just could NOT get into it even though everyone says it’s so fucking GREAT and god though I couldn’t even tell what character he was EVER TALKING ABOUT and how do you keep all those crazy ass names straight they’re like all the same name and also can you like not switch back and forth between a million different time periods and why do you live to confuse me Gabriel Garcia Marquez?

Professor’s comments: A+

Cappuccino-Chocolate Bites
from Martha Stewart’s Cookies

2/3 cup all-purpose flour
1 tbsp finely ground espresso beans
1/8 teaspoon coarse salt
6 tbsp unsalted butter, room temperature
1/4 cup confectioner’s sugar, plus more for dusting
1/4 tsp pure vanilla extract
1/3 cup heavy cream
2 1/2 oz milk chocolate, finely chopped (i used semi-sweet)
unsweetened cocoa powder, for dusting

Whisk flour, espresso, and salt in a bowl. Put butter and sugar in the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the paddle, and mix on medium-high speed until pale and fluffy. Mix in vanilla. Add flour mixture; mix on medium-low until dough comes together. Shape into a disk and wrap in plastic. Refrigerate 30 minutes.

Preheat oven to 350. Let dough stand at room temperature 10 minutes. Roll between sheets of parchment to 1/8″ thick. Cut out rounds with a 1 1/8″ round cutter; space 1/2″ apart on baking sheets lined with parchment. Reroll scraps; cut out. Freeze 10 minutes.

Bake until set but not browned, about 9 minutes. Let cool on sheets 5 minutes. Transfer to wire racks; cool completely.

Bring cream to a simmer. Pour over chocolate; stir until smooth. Press plastic onto surface; refrigerate at least 4 hours or up to overnight. Whisk to soft peaks; transfer to a pastry bag fitted with a 1/4″ plain round tip. Pipe about 1 tsp filling on bottoms of half the cookies. Dust with cocoa and confectioner’s sugar. Cookies can be refrigerated in an airtight container up to 1 day.

Author: katboda

Hey, cram it.

1 thought on “These bite.”

Leave a Reply

