Martha Martha Martha

Let’s face it. If Martha Stewart and I were sisters, she’d obviously be Marsha and I’d obviously be Jan. I say this as my knee heals from a soccer injury and my left leg is in a boot from a running one. I say this after I’ve set things on fire, burned myself countless times, exploded things, accidentally dropped entire bowls of things, and generally made a mess of things in the kitchen. Martha would watch me cook and then need to go to the hospital for Excessive But Stoically Contained Disgust.

banana walnut chocolate chunk cookies 1

That there is the only picture I took of these cookies, from my newly purchased cookbook, Martha’s Cookies. I’m not going to lie, Martha and I have had a tumultuous relationship. But dammit if I don’t respect her. And these cookies are precisely the reason why. Banana walnut chocolate chunk?! Why didn’t I THINK of that?

I made these cookies at the end of a marathon baking session on Monday night (hence the lack of pictures, because at this point my lungs had actually adapted to BREATHE FLOUR). I was providing treats for 50 people at a small conference, and from what I’ve heard, these got the most requests for the recipe. I am not surprised. They made my kitchen smell wonderfully, and if I hadn’t been so crazed by the end of the night I might’ve enjoyed a few with a glass of milk. As it was I was driving with a box of semi-warm cookies to Oakland and then taking the BART back at midnight with some particularly savory characters.

banana walnut chocolate chunk cookies 2

This picture is my box of cookies without the banana walnut chocolate chunk ones in their respective cubby hole. What you are looking at is a small feat of engineering, and although MARTHA would’ve packaged her cookies (already cooled) in custom boxes lined with some darling old wrapping paper she just had LYING AROUND, mine cost considerably less and it got the job done, so don’t even LOOK AT ME LIKE THAT MARTHA, because I KNOW you don’t even do that shit by yourself, you have minions working around the clock lining boxes with $50 wrapping paper so you can just saunter out like, oh, this? this is just something I made the other day while my souffles were rising. It’s a lie, Martha, and my box from a 24-pack of beer portioned into 3 and then lined with aluminum foil might not be the most attractive vessel in the history of cookie transport, but dammit, it’s HONEST. And until my insider trading dividends start rolling in, there will be no custom box-making at chez kat in the kitch.

Banana Walnut Chocolate Chunk Cookies
from Martha’s Cookies

1 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 cup whole wheat flour
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
3/4 cup unsalted butter, softened (1 1/2 sticks)
1/2 cup sugar
1/2 cup packed light brown sugar
1 large egg
1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla
1/2 cup mashed banana (approx 1 large banana..but I used 2)
1 cup old fashioned oats
8 ounces semisweet chocolate, coarsely cut into chunks approx 1/4-inch (i used chips. lame, i know. whatever Martha STOP LOOKING AT ME)
1/2 cup coarsely chopped walnuts, toasted

Preheat oven to 375.
Combine flours, salt, and baking soda in a small bowl. Set aside.
Put butter & sugars into bowl of electric mixer fitted with paddle. Mix on medium speed until pale and fluffy. Reduce speed to low. Add egg and vanilla; mix until combined. Mix in banana. Add flour mixture, mix until just combined. Stir in oats, chocolate chunks, and walnuts.
Using 1 1/2″ ice cream scoop drop dough onto baking sheets lined with parchment paper, spacing about 2″ apart.
Bake cookies until golden brown and just set, 12-13 minutes. Cool on sheets 5 minutes; transfer to wire rack to complete cooling.
Can be stored in airtight containers up to 2 days.

Author: katboda

Hey, cram it.

Leave a Reply

