Cause it makes you FEEL good

Things have been a little DRAMATIC around this kitch recently. Not in any real tangible way, I just feel like my shift key has been getting a lot of use. Things have been the BEST or the WORST or I’ve been threatening to punch people in the balls. Let’s bring it back down a little bit. Let’s simmer (like these wheat berries did for an hour! HEYYYYY see what I did there?). Which isn’t to say that I’m not enthusiastic about this salad. In fact, I’m so enthusiastic about it that I first had it on Monday (made by my sister) and I was so enamored with it that I made it again, for myself, a mere 3 days later. I couldn’t wait. I practically ran to the store to find all the ingredients.

wheat berry salad 1

Because I love a good crazy ass salad that has a whole bunch of shit in it. This one is crunchy and soft and sweet and salty and vinegary and everything! It’s everything I want in a salad, and it’s good for me, so EVERYBODY WINS! And there I go with the caps again.

wheat berry salad 2

One of the fun things about having a blog is looking at your page stats. I get to see what search terms people use to get to my site (including such gems as “what does a plum look like cut in half” [like, really? you need the internet to find that out?] or “hooters floor plan” [trying to make your search history legitimate, eh? oh no, honey, i’m interested in hooters as a BUSINESS VENTURE. also….that led you to this here blog. let me ask you this: did you feel like that was a successful google search? because i kinda think you missed your intended destination by, i don’t know, several cup sizes?]). The other day one of the search terms that led someone to this site was “cause it makes you feel good.”

wheat berry salad 3

I LIKE that, readers. I like that people are searching for that term, first of all. I can picture someone sitting down at their google homepage and being all… “well, I’m looking for something that I should be doing because it will make me feel good” and finally deciding the best search phrase was most surely “cause it makes you feel good.” I like that a lot alot. I also like that somehow, somewhere, my blog is connected to that search phrase. I don’t even care if I’m on page 79 of 80 of results for “cause it makes you feel good.” As long as I’m on there.

wheat berry salad 4

Because that’s what I’m trying to DO here. That is the PURPOSE of my blog. To make you bake things (or cook and chop things) and eat them, cause it makes you feel good! So listen here, are you feeling a little round of belly? Are you not pregnant? If you answered yes to both of those, this salad is for you (if you answered “no” to the first question, f you you skinny bitch, and if you answered “no” to the 2nd question, first of all, congratulations, etc etc, i’m sure your baby won’t look like a tiny wrinkled alien like every other baby that has ever emerged from every happy and fertile womb, but, also, this salad is probably for you, because it literally satisfies every craving you could possibly have.) This salad tastes good AND it’ll make you feeel good.

wheat berry salad 5

There is my sister and her boyfriend enjoying the original salad on a sloping grassy knoll at Gundlach Bundschu winery. We enjoyed some tempranillo and cheese and biscuits and raspberries and chocolate and this salad, and we listened to the sweet and folksy tunes of the Fruit Bats, cause it made us feel good. Then I went and ruined the night by making my sister’s boyfriend take a picture of me sitting next to the band during the opening act. I made a peace sign and everyone sitting around us looked at me all Who Is That Doofus, but it doesn’t matter, CAUSE IT MADE ME FEEL GOOD (listen, I know, you’re tired of hearing the phrase, but I’m trying to improve my search results here). This good:

wheat berry salad 6

(me: cracking myself up. the fruit bats: there next to me! see them? so cute!!)

wheat berry salad 7

It was a good night. But I need to stay on theme here. CONCLUSION: salad’s great. Make it and eat too much of it and don’t feel bad about it because it’s just about as healthy as it gets. Then go get some ice cream. Love, Katrina.

Spelt [or Wheat Berry] Salad with Fava Beans [or Edamame]
from Cooking Light

•    1  cup  uncooked spelt or wheat berries
•    4  cups  water
•    2  cups  shelled unpeeled fava beans (about 2 pounds whole pods) [I used edamame here because my organic foofy hippy stores let me down and didn’t have any fava beans]
•    1/2  cup  chopped drained oil-packed sun-dried tomato halves
•    1/2  cup  diced celery
•    1/3  cup  dried currants
•    3  tablespoons  balsamic vinegar
•    1  tablespoon  extravirgin olive oil
•    1/2  teaspoon  salt
•    1/2  teaspoon  freshly ground black pepper
•    2  garlic cloves, crushed
•    1/4  cup  chopped fresh parsley [increased this to 1/2 cup per my sister’s tip. recommend you do the same]

Place spelt in a large saucepan; cover with water to 2 inches above spelt. Bring to a boil. Cover, reduce heat, and simmer 1 1/2 hours or until spelt is tender. Drain. [wheat berries cook in slightly less time]
Bring 4 cups water to a boil in a medium saucepan. Add fava beans; cook 2 minutes. Drain and rinse with cold water; drain. Remove and discard tough outer skins from beans. [frozen edamame can just be defrosted and used as is. score one for the lazies!]
Combine spelt, fava beans, tomatoes, celery, and currants in a large bowl. Combine vinegar and next 4 ingredients (through garlic), stirring with a whisk. Drizzle over spelt mixture; toss well to coat. Sprinkle with parsley.

Author: katboda

Hey, cram it.

Leave a Reply

