The reason I always make fruit cakes

Apparently I have been on a bit of a fruitcake kick as of late. I can’t deny it, nor do I regret it, nor do I feel like I should apologize for it. You try walking into the supermarket thinking “what should I bake this week?” and not leaving with a bag full of fruit and maybe some ice pops or something. TRY IT.

peanut butter chocolate chip bars 1

So this is for all you crazies who prefer peanut butter and chocolate to fruit. I know you’re out there, and I know you think you’re in the right. I just want you to know that I’ll never understand you.

peanut butter chocolate chip bars 2 peanut butter chocolate chip bars 3

That doesn’t mean we can’t be friends, or that I won’t bake you a chocolate cake for your birthday. It just means I’ll never truly be able to see life from your perspective. I won’t GET you. Are you ok with that?

peanut butter chocolate chip bars 4

Good, I’m glad we got that settled. That said, I really have been craving peanut butter something fierce lately. Maybe it’s my body reacting to all the fruit. It’s like, please, something not watery and sweet for a second? I have to say that I don’t have a great peanut butter cookie recipe; and, spoiler, this isn’t it either. I’ve been searching, I really have. I find mostly they come out too dry. I know I’ve had the type of peanut butter cookies that I love: moist and completely dense and overwhelmingly peanut buttery.

peanut butter chocolate chip bars 5

I just don’t know how to get there. Can anyone help a girl out? For this recipe, I upped the peanut butter to 1 cup and I still felt like there wasn’t enough peanut butter taste. Also, I made the batter intending to make cookies, but discovered there are no baking sheets here in my sister’s place. Instead, I mushed the dough into a baking pan, added a ton of chocolate chips, and called them bars. But they’re sub-par bars. And although I like the way that sounds, I’m not totally jazzed about the way they taste. Sigh.

Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Bars
adapted from Moosewood Restaurant Celebrates

1 cup brown sugar, packed
1/2 cup smooth or crunchy peanut butter (this I upped to 1 cup and it STILL WASN’T ENOUGH)
1/4 cup vegetable oil
1 egg
1 tbsp pure vanilla extract
2 tbsp light corn syrup
1 1/4 cps unbleached white flour
1/2 cup whole wheat pastry flour
1 tsp baking powder
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1 to 2 tsps water, as needed

Preheat oven to 375˚. Lightly oil a baking sheet or two.
Cream together the brown sugar, peanut butter, oil, egg, vanilla, and corn syrup. On a piece of wax paper or in a seperate bowl, sift together the flours, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. Add the dry ingredients to the creamed mixture and blend thoroughly. The dough will be stiff and crumbly: If it won’t hold together, add a tsp or so or water.
With your hands, shape and roll the dough into 1-inch balls. Place them on the baking sheet and, wit the bottom of a glass, press them into flat circles. Smooth the cracked edges a little with your fingers. If you like, press the tops with the tines of a fork to give them the mark of classic peanut butter cookies. If you like them brown and crisp on top, spray a light coat of oil on the tops of the unbaked cookies.
Bake for about 10 minutes, until golden brown. Cool on a rack and store in a cookie jar.

Author: katboda

Hey, cram it.

2 thoughts on “The reason I always make fruit cakes”

  1. That looks delicious! Next time, you should try making something with chocolate and fruit, so we can have the best of both worlds :)

    -Endangered Species Chocolate

Leave a Reply

