New bookies, new cookies

Friends, I got a new cookbook. Without naming any names, someone pretty awesome sent it to me. As for the rest of you, thanks for nothing (except for my friends Marge and Colin, who both sent me recipes I am excited to try). In return, said cookbook gifter asked for cookies and cakes, and said cookbook gifter will receive them. See that? If you buy me something, you’ll get cookies in the mail. You should try it out.

cowboy cookies batter cowboy cookies paddle

I was a little too excited to make something from the book, and so these cookies came to be faster than you can say “sweet salami sandwiches.” They’re super easy and you can throw all sorts of random what-have-yous you find in your pantry. I found in mine 2 boxes of golden raisins, both open. I took out one bag to find that the raisins were no longer golden but more of a poopy brown color (not unlike “regular” raisins). I looked at the expiration date on the box. It said, August, and I thought, ok, we have a few months–OH HOLY HELL HOLD THE PHONE. August 2004?? Really, mom? REALLY? 5 year old raisins?? Those went in the garbage and I went on to the next box. August again. This time…2008. Well, that was close enough for me. I ate a few to be sure, and they were still golden so I went for it.

cowboy cookies stuff

I also threw in some craisins, regular raisins, and pecan pieces (we were all out of walnuts) in addition to the requisite chocolate chips. This is how I know I’m growing up. Because I like a bunch of shit in my cookies now. There was a time when I used to pick out all of the chocolate chips from chocolate chip cookies so I could save the plain parts for last. I know. I KNOW. I am an odd one.

cowboy cookies on pan

This time, I would even say I think I didn’t chock these full enough. There was too much negative space, too much unpainted canvas. I wanted more raisins, more chocolate, more whatever. Not because the cookie dough isn’t lovely itself, but because I now crave things other than butter+eggs+brown sugar.

cowboy cookies done

In summary, these cookies are good. They’re not oatmeal, but they’re not just chocolate chip. They’re some sort of strange but delicious hybrid that the Moosewood crazy ladies call “Cowboy Cookies.” It is unclear to me, even after reading the preamble, why they are named as such. Perhaps it’s a nod to these cookies’ perfect mate, or what I would imagine would be an apt description of a hunky cowboy: a tall glass of milk.

cowboy cookies plate

As in, see that tall glass of milk leaning on yonder fencepost? I’d like to dip my cookies into THAT, if you know what I mean. Am I right ladies?

Cowboy Cookies
from Moosewood Restaurant Book of Desserts

1 cup butter, room temperature
1/2 cup sugar
1/2 cup packed brown sugar
2 large eggs
1 tsp pure vanilla extract
2 cups unbleached white pastry flour (I used all purpose)
1/2 tsp salt
1 tsp baking soda (see THAT Mark Bittman? NOT 2 TSPS YOU CRAZY MAN)
1/2 tsp baking powder
2 cups rolled oats (I used this weird 5 grain cereal, whatever, the moths ate all our rolled oats)
12 oz semi-sweet chocolate chips (about 1 1/2 cups)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
In a large bowl, thoroughly cream the butter, sugar, and brown sugar with an electric mixer. Add the eggs and vanilla and beat well. In a separate bowl, combine the flour, salt, baking soda, and baking powder. Add the dry ingredients to the butter and sugar mixture and blend well. Mix in the oats. Using a large spoon or your hands, fold in the chocolate chips, and the raisins and walnuts, if using. The dough will be fairly stiff.
On unoiled baking sheets, drop generous rounded teaspoonfuls (see…I did scant tbsps…I like my cookies slightly larger than small enough to inhale several without registering it. if i have to bite it, it registers) of dough about 4 inches apart. Bake for about 12 minutes, until golden. Cool completely before storing in a sealed container.
Variation: Add 1 cup of raisins and/or 1/2 cup of coarsely chopped toasted walnuts.

Author: katboda

Hey, cram it.

Leave a Reply

