Easter cheesecake and rotten brain

Dear readers. Do you ever feel all discombobulated? Because I’ve read that, technically, your brain starts dying at age 23. And here I am facing down 26 in a small number of weeks and I’m feeling like my brain is kinda shaking everyone’s hands and sighing and saying, “well, we had a good run.”

cheesecake pan cheesecake filling

Because I didn’t really do all that much today, mentally. I did the Times magazine crossword puzzle, finished my taxes, and wrote about 1/4 page of a cover letter (that will inevitably have to be rewritten 10 times because I repeated the word “experience” in every sentence). But when my mom said she was going to make a cheesecake (which is my favorite kind of cake), I had very little mental capacity left for processing that.

cheesecake walnuts cheesecake mixing

Instead I did supremely helpful things like take pictures and dip my finger into the filling 20 times and sit at the kitchen counter and stare off into space.

cheesecake crust

And now I’ve added to that by eating 100 jelly beans, most of which I didn’t even want. But I hate it when there are jelly beans left and they’re all the bad flavors, so I try to eat some of the bad ones at the outset. Instead of not eating them at all. Like a normal person.

cheesecake pour

So here’s the recipe. I wanted you to have it for Easter (because what, WHAT, is better than cheesecake on Easter?) even though technically “Kat” didn’t really “kitch” this one. This one goes to Satu. Tomorrow I’m recreating the rainbow cookies though. And THEN. And then, friends, I’m back. I’m back so fucking prepare yourselves. It’s going to be crazy.

Easter Cheesecake
from the Silver Palate Good Times Cookbook

Crust:
1 cup graham cracker crumbs
1/4 cup coarsely chopped walnuts
2 tbsps brown sugar
1 tsp brown sugar
1/2 cup unsalted butter, melted (my mom writes, “6 tbs enough.” apparently the apple doesn’t fall far from the tree [see paragraph 3])

Filling:
2 cups sour cream
3 packages (8 oz each) cream cheese, room temp
1 cup granulated sugar
1/2 tsp salt
2 tsps vanilla extract
Finely grated zest of 1 orange (we used some lemon juice as substitute. “we.”)

Preheat oven to 375 degrees F.

To make the crust, combine the crumbs, walnuts, brown sugar, ad cinnamon. Add the butter and toss to combine. Press the graham mixture evenly into the bottom and 1 1/2 inches up the side of a 9-inch springform pan.

To make the filling, process the sour cream, cream cheese, eggs, sugar, and salt in a blender or food processor (or KitchenAid like us) until very smooth. Add the vanilla and orange zest and process just to blend.

Bake the cheesecake for 50 minutes or until the top is lightly golden (up to 10 min more).

Let cool completely. Remove the side of the pan and refrigerate until ready to serve.

Author: katboda

Hey, cram it.

Leave a Reply

