Minestrone Soup with Kale and Butternut Squash

I’m back! Did you miss me? It was hard being away from you, but I managed. With the help of this:

p3090037

And apparently, when I got back, it hadn’t magically morphed into full-blown spring like I was hoping. So I’m giving you a soup to carry you through these last lion days of March. I know, I know. Another soup with butternut squash in it. Another soup in general! You are right to complain. It seems like all I make is soup and pancakes. Hey, I like to give options. It’s technically a fall soup so we are all sorts of out of season here…but really the only fall-specific thing in here was the squash.

mirepoix as per usual
mirepoix as per usual

Also, it’s another soup from The Art of Simple Food. I have been pimping that cookbook pretty hard, I know…but I get obsessive when I get new things. I just need to buy myself a new cookbook. Or you could buy one for me.

so colorful, and naturally! take that, rainbow cookies.
so colorful, and naturally! take that, rainbow cookies.

The only issue here was that good old King Kullen’s, our town’s bizarro market, didn’t have any kale (even though they SAID they did). I picked up some collard greens, which I was assured were the closest of kin, and everything worked out.

so squeaky
so squeaky

You’re going to miss soup, you know you are. Better eat up before it’s salads and barbecue and all that good summer fare.

i'll miss you, readers
i'll miss you, readers

As for me, I am off to northern California for the next 2 weeks, hopefully avoiding the last desperate throes of winter. Don’t fret! I’ll try to post as often as possible while I’m out there, and the posts will take a decidedly spring-y turn. Bon voyage, fair readers.

Fall Minestrone with Kale and Butternut Squash
from The Art of Simple Food

Prepare:
1 cup dried cannellini or borlotti beans (I used great northern white beans)
This will yield 2 1/2 to 3 cups of cooked beans. Reserve the cooking liquid.
Heat in a heavy-bottomed pan over medium heat:
1/4 cup olive oil
Add:
1 large onion, finely chopped
2 carrots, peeled and finely chopped
2 celery stalks, finely chopped

Cook for 15 minutes, or until tender. Add:
4 garlic cloves, coarsely chopped
1/2 teaspoon rosemary, chopped
1 teaspoon sage, chopped
1 bay leaf
2 teaspoons salt
1 bunch kale, stemmed washed and chopped
1 small can tomatoes, drained and chopped

Cook for 5 minutes longer. Add, and bring to a boil:
3 cups water
When boiling, add:
1 small leek, diced
1/2 butternut squash, peeled and cut into 1/4-in cubes (about 2 cups)

Cook for 15 minutes. Taste for salt and adjust as necessary.
Add the cooked beans, along with:
1 cup bean cooking liquid
Cook for 5 minutes. If the soup is too thick, add more bean cooking liquid. Remove the bay leaf.
Serve in bowls, each one garnished with:
2 teaspoons extra-virgin olive oil
1 tablespoon or more grated Parmesan cheese

(I also added in some pre-cooked pasta at the end because it was lying around and I love me some pasta in minestrone soup)

Author: katboda

Hey, cram it.

Leave a Reply

