Cream Biscuits (and Mushroom Gravy)

It occurs to me that I’ve been a bit sassy to you all lately. And demand-y. Apologies for that. Let’s settle down and have some biscuits and gravy. The only time I’ve ever had biscuits and mushroom gravy was at a little hippie breakfast place in (surprise) Eugene, OR. It was called the Morning Glory, and the biscuits and gravy were vegan (double surprise!) but somehow also delicious. They were so good that I was going to attempt to duplicate the recipe…until I realized I didn’t have vegan butter (which is what…oil?) or soymilk…so I scrapped the vegan idea and went straight for the cream. And real butter.

i love biscuit cutters
have i mentioned that i love biscuit cutters?

This was by far the easiest dough-related recipe I’ve ever made. By. Far. I used a cheese grater to grate the butter into the flour, so I didn’t really even need to cut it up a lot. The cream holds the dough together well, and you barely have to roll it at all…in fact, I rolled mine out way too much and my biscuits were baby midgets because of it.

cream biscuits ready to bake
much too short

While they baked up nice and golden, we made a quick mushroom gravy. Which, incidentally, is really not very pleasant to photograph. Aaand I only half-remember what happened during the process, but I think it went something like this: make a simple roux, throw some onion in it, add the mushrooms, and put boiling water over it. Then season. Sounded simple enough to me. I can approximate for you what I did, but I’m pretty sure there is a lot of room to be flexible based on what you like.

mushroom gravy mushrooms

And let’s be honest here…the stars of this particular show are the biscuits. So soft and flaky and I love cream. I want to put it in everything. Like my mouth.

cream biscuits baked

And honestly they took about 7 minutes to make and 17 to bake. You can’t go wrong. You can smother them in gravy and have a hearty brunch OR you can use them for strawberry shortcakes or other delicious things. If I knew how easy biscuits were to make, I’d have been making them constantly. Without pause. Forever. And ever. Amen.

cream biscuits and mushroom gravy

Cream Biscuits
from The Art of Simple Food

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees F.
Stir together in a large bowl:
1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1/4 tsp salt
4 tsps sugar (optional)
(I added 1…I don’t know why, just for shits and giggles I suppose)
2 tsps baking powder

Add:
6 tbsp (3/4 stick) cold butter, cut into small pieces (or not if you’re going to grate it in)
Cut the butter into the flour with your fingers or a pastry blender (or the large holes of a cheese grater!) until they are the size of small peas. Measure:
3/4 cup heavy cream
Remove 1 tbsp and set aside. Lightly stir in the remainder of the cream with a fork until the mixture just comes together. Without overworking it, lightly knead the dough a couple of times in the bowl, turn it out onto a lightly floured board, and roll out about 3/4 in thick. Reroll scraps if necessary.
Place the biscuits on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper and lightly brush the tops with the reserved tbsp of cream. Bake for 17 miutes or until cooked through and golden.

Mushroom Gravy
from my mother’s brain

4 tbsp flour
4 tbsp butter
1 1/2 cups finely chopped mushrooms (we used regular ol’ white ones)
1/2 onion, chopped
2 cups hot to almost boiling water
vegetable boullion or other spices (the Morening Glory version was very dilly…that could also be nice)
salt and pepper to taste
2 tbsp cream

Melt the butter in a deep saucepan. Add the flour and mix into a paste. Cook, stirring often, until it’s brown. My mom says cook it about a shade darker than you want your gravy to be, for what it’s worth. Add the onion and stir. After a few minutes, add the mushrooms. Cook for about a minute and then pour in the water, stirring to combine. Season as desired (ours was about a tbsp of boullion and some salt and pepper). I like to cut it with some cream (obvi) but it’s entirely optional.

Author: katboda

Hey, cram it.

Leave a Reply

