Buds, Buttermilk, Brunch, Berries, Butter

The other morning I woke up very excited to eat Peanut Butter Puffins. In Eugene, where Trader Joe’s was our closest supermarket (shedding a tear for that memory), we ate Peanut Butter Puffins all the damn time. They are, in my opinion, the very best cereal option. So imagine my dismay when I awoke, scampered downstairs to the pantry, and–what’s this? They were gone! It was a good thing that my friend Marge had come over for brunch on Sunday and brought with her homemade granola, because that was the only thing that passed muster as an acceptable substitute.

Later in the day, as the snow began to accumulate here on Long Island, I noticed something outside. It was small….rectangular……blue!? It all clicked into place. You see, my family has 2 dogs of opposite temperaments. Sassafras is older, wiser, and sweeter…the most loyal dog on the planet and a goody two shoes to boot. Rhubarb is younger, more cunning, and half-wolf…out for herself and constantly getting into some sort of trouble, like escaping from our yard and killing our neighbors’ geese. She is no dummy, and she will take advantage of any and all opportunities to snatch something for herself. She has captured the family mouse (RIP Stephen), eaten more of my underwear (outside drying on the clothesline) than I care to remember, snapped the straps of my favorite bathing suit, stolen shoes, and even an entire six pack of beer (left on the deck to cool) and buried it in the yard. It shouldn’t have been any surprise to me that she decided she was also a big fan of Peanut Butter Puffins and made off with the box when someone wasn’t paying attention.

Saved from certain annihilation
saved from certain annihilation

Luckily she couldn’t get into the plastic bag and my Puffins, though cold, were quite safe.

lookin all innocent
lookin all innocent

Speaking of breakfast (ah transition, you fickle mistress)–let’s get back to Sunday. My friend Meagan was up from D.C., and she and Marge joined my boyfriend and I for some pancakes and gossip about our old high school friends.

remember summer? it was nice.
remember summer? it was nice.

I had some frozen berries in the freezer, so we decided on buttermilk pancakes with raspberries and blueberries. In case you didn’t know, raspberries are my #2 food of all time (behind pickles), which is a very high honor indeed. Despite what it might seem like, this being the third pancakes post I’ve done thus far, pancakes are not high on my list. These were very berryful though, and that is just fine by me.

meagan was a good helper
meagan was a good helper

Meagan was excited to help with a blog post. I can’t really blame her. My blog is, for lack of better cultural reference, kind of a big deal. She was a gracious taste tester and I think the pancakes were a hit, if not a BIG hit. Part of the credit goes to mother nature, sure, but I think we can all agree that most of it goes to me and my expert pancake making abilities.

the tie-dye shirt food equivalent
the tie-dye shirt food equivalent

(Here is the part where I admit that I’m actually not quite sure who reads this blog. I assume everyone knows me, and therefore recognizes the blatant self-mockery I infuse in my posts. Perhaps this is not the case and my fair readers actually think I am that boastful. Whichever you believe, you simply must admit….those are some good-lookin pancakes.)

where them berries? i hid em.
where them berries? i hid em.
slightly disturbing
slightly disturbing

Besides the whole raspberries-looking-like-pockets-of-bloody-gore thing, there isn’t a thing I’d change about these purple beauties. I added a bit more buttermilk than milk, but still made it all equal 1 1/2 cups of liquid. All in all a great Sunday brunch option with good buddies and good food. And, obviously, this post is brought to you by the letter “B.”

Raspberry-Blueberry Buttermilk Pancakes
from Simply Recipes via Use Real Butter

2 cups flour
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
2 eggs
1/2 cup buttermilk
1 cup milk
3 tbsp butter, melted
1 cup raspberries
1 cup blueberries

Combine flour, salt, baking powder, and baking soda in a bowl and mix well. Mix eggs, buttermilk, and milk in another bowl. Combine the wet and dry mixes until just lumpy. Pour in butter and stir well. Fold in raspberries and blueberries. Heat a little oil or butter in a frying pan over medium-high heat. Pour a scoop of batter onto the pan when the oil is hot. Spread to desired size. When bubbles appear on the top of the pancake, flip to cook the other side. Remove the pancake from the pan when the bottom is golden. Serve hot or let the pancakes cool and refrigerate them to be toasted later.

Author: katboda

Hey, cram it.

3 thoughts on “Buds, Buttermilk, Brunch, Berries, Butter”

  1. To be fair, we don’t know if Rhu is responsible for Steven’s death. He seemed to recover well from “the capture” in Rhu’s mouth. Though it’s possible that he may have sustained some internal injuries….

Leave a Reply

