Spicy Cauliflower Soup

Another cold day, another soup from the Art of Simple Food. This time I went for the Spicy Cauliflower Soup. I’m a big cooked cauliflower fan, and I especially love it in soup, so I was pretty much guaranteed to like this recipe.

spicy cauliflower soup cauliflower

I used the amount of spices in the recipe at first, but ended up adding a bit more of each of them at the end. It was a tiny scooch on the bland side. The instructions just said “salt” so I figured that meant a few skrik skrik skriks from the salt grinder would do. Not so. I ended up putting a ton of salt in this, something I don’t normally do.

spicy cauliflower soup pot

Once it was properly spiced, it was delicious. I like the kick from the chili powder and red pepper flakes. I used a hand-blender to puree it a little bit at the end–but I left enough chunks so that it wasn’t completely smooth.

spicy cauliflower soup bowl

With some yogurt (we only had greek yogurt in the fridge which worked fine) and cilantro on top it was nice and creamy and fresh tasting. Definitely a keeper, and I apologize that my write-up is not as wonderfully spicy as the recipe. Some days it is a real challenge to think of enough corny puns to make a whole post. And suddenly I want cornbread.

Spicy Cauliflower Soup
from The Art of Simple Food

makes 2 quarts; 4 to 6 servings

Heat, in a heavy-bottomed soup pot:
1/4 cup olive oil
Add and cook, stirring often over medium heat:
1 onion, peeled and diced
1 carrot, peeled and diced
1 tsp coriander seeds, crushed
1 tsp cumin seeds, crushed
1 tsp chile powder
1/4 tsp turmeric
1/4 tsp dried chile flakes
Salt
Fresh-ground black pepper
When very soft but not browned, add:
6 cilantro sprigs, coarsely chopped
1 large head of cauliflower, trimmed of green leaves and coarsely chopped
3 cups chicken broth
3 cups water

Raise the heat and bring to a boil, stirring occasionally. Reduce the heat to a simmer and cook until the cauliflower is very tender, about 30 minutes. Stir vigorously with a spoon or whisk to coarsely puree the soup (here I used the blender…just one or two zzz zzz zzzzzs). You may need to add more broth or water to thin the soup if it is too thick. Taste, adjust the seasoning if necessary (which I found it to be) and serve hot. Garnish each serving with:
Yogurt
Chopped cilantro or mint
A squeeze of lime juice
(I omitted but I kinda wish I had a lime or two on hand to try it)

Author: katboda

Hey, cram it.

Leave a Reply

