Cupcakes we can believe in

I spent like 10 minutes trying to fit “Obama” into the word “cupcakes.” I don’t think it can happen–the closest I got was cupcobamakes. You will have to settle for a bastardization of the Change We Can Believe In campaign phrase.

chocolate cupcakes no more bush

I don’t know what you’re doing for Inauguration Day, but I hope you have a good one. It is certainly not a holiday, this I understand. Without getting all political here, I was just happy for an excuse to make cupcakes.

chocolate cupcakes trio

And you know I jumped all over a chance to write stuff on said cupcakes. We melted white chocolate, scooped it into a ziploc bag, cut a tiny hole in the corner and went nuts. I started out writing the “change” cupcake, but I almost only made it to “chang.” Piping out white chocolate is tricky, even trickier than regular icing because it is thicker.

I take full responsibility for "Hilary 2012"
I take full responsibility for "Hilary 2012"

If you’re wondering about the “Life” cupcake…my boyfriend wanted to do a Life, Liberty, Justice series (what can I say, he is a law school student) but soon realized his icing skills were moderately to quite sub-par. Not that I have anything to brag about. I am indeed responsible for the poor rendition of the Obama logo. Next time we’ll practice on wax paper before taking it to the glaze (that just made me sing “taking it to the streets” in my head…which will now be in my head all night, dammit).

What I can’t take responsibility for are the cakes themselves, which my boyfriend’s mom made. They were very good and light, just like cupcakes should be. She added some coffee grounds to enhance the chocolate flavor, which I suggest you do as well. Apparently these babies can be made in one bowl as well, and THAT is something I can believe in. That and a new president!

One-Bowl Chocolate Cupcakes
from Martha Stewart Living, February 2009

makes 18

3/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 1/2 cups sugar
1 1/2 tsps baking soda
3/4 tsp baking powder
3/4 tsp salt
2 large eggs
3/4 cup warm water
3/4 cup buttermilk
3 tbsp safflower oil (pretty sure you can just use veggie oil here…)
1 tsp vanilla extract

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line standard muffin tins with paper liners. Sift cocoa powder, flour, sugar, baking soda, baking powder, and salt into a large bowl. Add eggs, warm water, buttermilk, oil, and vanilla, mix until smooth.
2. Divide batter among muffin cups, filling each 2/3 full. Bake until tops spring back when touched, about 20 minutes. Transfer cupcakes to wire racks and let cool. Cupcakes will keep, covered, for up to 3 days.

Chocolate Glaze
makes 1 cup

2/3 cup heavy cream
4 oz bittersweet chocolate, finely chopped
1 tbsp corn syrup

Heat cream in a small saucepan over medium heat. Place chocolate and corn syrup in a small bowl. Pour hot cream over chocolate mixture, and stir until smooth. Use immediately.

Dip tops of each cupcake in chocolate glaze, letting excess drip off. Let stand until set, about 30 minutes. Fit a pastry bag with the smallest plain round tip. Fill bag with about 2 oz melted white chocolate and use to write on cupcakes. Decorated cupcakes will keep, covered, for up to 2 days.

Author: katboda

Hey, cram it.

1 thought on “Cupcakes we can believe in”

  1. You know… before I even read this recipe I thought to myself… “These cupcakes look JUST like the ones in the new issue of Martha Stewart Living,” and alas, they were! You done her proud.

Leave a Reply

