Making lemonade (from lemons!)

Please excuse me, I have been busy:

have you ever seen anything so beautiful?
have you ever seen anything so beautiful?

That’s right, 25 brand new colorful Sharpies. Incidentally, the colors are not listed on the pens themselves, so you know I was sitting there for hours drawing lines of each color and deciding what each should be named. I am nothing if not predictable. You’d be surprised at how much time you can eat up thinking about what you should do with your brand new Sharpies.

Anyway, I’ve also been away from a real kitchen. Since I am technically homeless, I’ve been spending an equal amount of time at my parents’ house on Long Island, my boyfriend’s parents’ house in Connecticut, and my boyfriend’s teeny tiny efficiency apartment in Hartford, CT. In reality his apartment is, including the “kitchen” and bathroom, about the size of my childhood bedroom. This means no stovetop or oven in the kitchen, and a countertop dominated by the only cooking appliances here–a microwave and toaster oven. So no complex cakes or creme brulees or anything until some time this weekend when we venture to his parent’s house for some leg room.

What we are doing here is making the best of a kinda crappy situation. One could say, if one were adage-inclined, we are making lemonade from lemons. And THAT, my friends, is how you make a transition…into this recipe for lemonade.

Ok, let’s be honest. You don’t need me to tell you how to make lemonade. But seriously, raise your hand if you’ve made lemonade any time in the past year. I see like one hand up. I know for me, some of it was because I never really knew the proportions. Plus it always seemed like kind of a pain in the ass.

lemonade

Here’s the deal. It’s not a pain in the ass. It takes like 5 minutes. It’s delicious. It’s mid-January and you probably have scurvy. Citrus is abundant. Life is giving you a hard time. Be corny and make lemonade and think about how it’s a metaphor for your life and then drink it because it’s amazing.

Lemonade

3-4 medium lemons (enough to make 1/2 cup juice)
Zest of 3-4 medium lemons (THIS IS THE KEY, DO NOT SKIP THIS STEP. ZEST THOSE LEMONS DAMMIT!)
1/2 cup sugar
6 cups water

Do I need to elaborate? The only thing I’ll tell you is to zest the lemons BEFORE you squeeze them. Also, invest in one of those lemon juicers (pictured above). Come on they’re like $4 probably and they save you from scooping out endless numbers of pits from your lemonade. If you like it really tart, put in a little less than 1/2 cup of sugar…that’s what I did and it was wonderful.

I’ll be back later with something more exciting, I promise. In the meantime, get some Vitamin C.

Author: katboda

Hey, cram it.

Leave a Reply

