Merry merry!

Whew! It’s been busy here, as I’m sure it has been wherever you might be. Santa was good to me, and he was also good to you, dear readers. Do you know how I know?

the art of simple food book cover the art of simple food book inside

Because he (in the form of my wonderful boyfriend) got me this cookbook. Which means he got YOU a whole bunch of these fabulous recipes forthcoming on my blog. Merry Christmas, Happy Hannukah, etc. You’re welcome.

This book has, in addition to great recipes and useful info, wonderfully simple typography. Black and red, traditional font. I kinda geeked out over it when I first opened it. But let’s not talk about paper and ink, let’s talk about butter and flour.

let's get back to the food...
let's get back to the food...

For our Christmas brunch my mom made some Svoboda family staples – palačinky, known to most as crepes. This eastern-European version is much less fussy than crepes I think. All you need to remember is a 2:1 ratio. 2 eggs, 2 cups of milk, 1 cup of flour. You got that? 2 of the wet things, 1 of the dry thing. This is also perfect if you have some milk that is going south…sour milk makes wonderful palačinky. And it’s simple! Whisk everything together and let it sit for a few minutes, perhaps in the fridge (if you have room). The trickiest part about these is the butter. It should be a hot hot hot pan and the butter should be brown when you pour the pancake in. Let the bubbles subside and just when you think the butter will burn, strike (while the pan is hot, incidentally)!

palacinky side one palacinky side two

They are easy to flip because of all that butter on the pan (be generous, it’s Christmas!). A thin spatula will be your friend.

a THIN layer of jam
a THIN layer of jam

Then spread on the jam of your choice. We used homemade blackberry preserves and red currant jam. I like a tart-ish jam, but that’s the way I roll. I also prefer to be stingy on the jam…it’s my personal preference, but you might feel otherwise inclined.

palacinky rolled

palacinky finished

This is such an easy recipe and the results are always delicious. It’s hard to screw these up. Whenever I make them, they are a hit, and people always ask for them again. Do yourself a favor this winter and do some pouring, flipping, spreading, rolling, and sprinkling. And Happy Holidays!

Author: katboda

Hey, cram it.

Leave a Reply

