A little too saucy.

Too bad they don’t let you insert videos for post titles, because the title of this post would be the entirety of this Curb Your Enthusiasm exchange:

There is this foodie (hate that word, by the way) ethos of not saucing your pasta too much. It’s how the eye-talians prefer it. Al dente and LIGHTLY COATED. I don’t know. I get that. But sauce is so good. Especially good sauce. That you make yourself. In your new pot.

So I won’t judge you if you drown your pasta in homemade tomato sauce. Foodies are dumb anyway. What does it even mean to be a foodie? Ok, I just looked up the definition: a person devoted to refined sensuous enjoyment. Ah, there it is. Refined. I knew I wasn’t part of that club. Can I confess to you? Sometimes, when I don’t have sauce on hand and I don’t feel like making sauce, I cook up some pasta and eat it with ketchup and parmesan cheese. Disgusting!!! I know!!!! I’m the worst. But also? It’s kinda good. Because you know the thing about food? A lot of it is good. Most of it, in fact. I think we need to come up with a new term for people who are just normal people who like to eat and like to cook and enjoy learning about food and appreciate good food but also sometimes eat Taco Bell when it so pleases them. Equal opportunity food lovers. But some shorter term. Food sluts? Yeah. There it is. That feels right. I’m just a food slut, you guys! A saucy saucy food slut.

And you know what? I feel pretty fucking good about that. Pretttttty prettttty pretttttty pretty good.

You-Can-Do-It Tomato Sauce

1 onion, diced
olive oil (tbsp-ish)
1 tbsp tomato paste
3 cloves garlic, minced
some wine maybe? like a splashy splash? also here’s where you drink some too
2 tbsp brown sugar
1 32-oz can whole tomatoes
1/4 cup basil leaves, chiffonaded (sliced real thin)
salt & pepper to taste

Ok friends. Here goes. Warm up some olive oil in a big pot over medium heat. Add the onions and let those babies sweat for a while. When they start to brown (like 10-15) minutes, add some salt. Stir, then add your tomato paste and stir to evenly distribute. Add the garlic and stir another minute. Then splash in some wine (i’ve used white, i’ve used red, i’ve used vinegar…whatever) to deglaze the bottom (get the delicious brown pieces up). Add the sugar and stir to dissolve. Then, grab your whole tomatoes. I like to fish them out of the can with my hand and squish them into the pot. You can chop them, but that is boring. Basically just get em all in there sorta broken up, and pour in the juice too. Let it simmer a while, like 10 minutes, then add the basil. Stir and simmer until it’s the right consistency. Salt and pepper to taste. Then drown some overcooked pasta in it. Holleerrrrr.

8 thoughts on “A little too saucy.

  1. um, hello, Italian here, been immersing my spaghetti in gravy since Day One. went over to the Old Country: they totes submerge the noodles in goo.

    “foodies” see me inundatin'; they hatin’.

  2. Hi. My name is Kat and I live in San Francisco too. I love all things tomato. I could eat tomato sauce and salsa by the spoonful. I guess I am not a foodie. Im okay with that.

  3. yummy. I’m trying to get away from canned tomatoes though, you know because of the whole toxic chemical leaching thing. How easy would it be to substitute fresh ones?

  4. I love breaking the numerous food rules of the Italian side of the family. Like Abomination Sauce, which uses both onion and garlic (gasp!) and also cumin and Mexican oregano.

    Sarabee, on the toxic chemicals, Muir Glen tomatoes have a special new coating that supposedly doesn’t leach chemicals, and also are great tomatoes that live up to the standards of my (half) Italian mother who normally only uses imported San Marzano tomatoes. Fresh tomatoes also make a yummy sauce.

Leave a Reply

