Peanut Butter Bready Time

peanut butter bread

Last night during Quiz Night at the Sage Cafe (we came in second, I don’t want to talk about it…we took a chance on James Madison and he wronged us) there was a question about the periodic table of elements: What is the periodic table symbol for lead? The answer is Pb, which my table thankfully knew. The table next to us also knew, and the guy said he remembered by thinking of peanut butter whenever he thought of lead. Now, in my mind, those obviously do not go together…but from now on they will, thanks to his poor rendition of the Peanut Butter Jelly Time song that followed his explanation. Side note: we wondered what the Pb came from last night…I just looked it up on Wikipedia. Apparently it comes from the Latin “plumbum.” Heh heh. The more you know.

egg has dandruff problem

woops, egg got floured

whiteys

whiteys

So peanut butter was on my brain this morning (as was James Madison, that rat bastard). Luckily I had just procured a recipe for peanut butter bread that I was dying to try. It comes from two lovely women with whom I had the privilege of sharing a track team in college. If you haven’t heard of Kate and Laura O’Neill, you probably aren’t a running nerd, but also you are missing out. They are lovely people, and Laura was kind enough to share with me her peanut butter bread recipe, which is world-famous around these parts. When we were living in the bay area, Kate and Laura came to dinner at my boyfriend’s house (they were in Palo Alto to do some training at sea level) and they brought this bread. If I had to count how many times since then my boyfriend has talked about this bread, it might rival how many times he’s said “I love you.” Ok, that is an exaggeration…but he is terribly fond of it, and I can see why.

peanut bread ingredients peanut butter bread liquid

Because he is the type of person to put significantly more peanut butter than jelly on a PB&J sandwich. He is also the type of person to eat peanut butter on crackers, fingers, apples, and pretty much anything available. I am not that type of person…in fact, I throw quite a hissy fit if jelly doesn’t dominate peanut butter on a sandwich…but even I rave about this bread. It’s moist and peanut-buttery and lovely drizzled with some honey (like honey-roasted peanuts!).
peanut butter bread slice

I have to admit that the version the O’Neills brought us in Redwood City puts my own attempt to shame, but I think with some tinkering I can get it just right.
img_3668
In the meantime, grab some milk and some jelly and go to town on this.

Peanut Butter Bread
courtesy Laura O’Neill

Ingredients
2 cups of flour
1/2 cup of sugar
2 teaspoons of baking powder
3/4 cup of peanut butter (I usually use more than 3/4 of a cup!)
1 cup of milk
1 egg, well-beaten

Preheat oven to 350ºF.
Mix the flour, sugar, and baking powder together.
Mix in the peanut butter.
Add the egg and milk; stir just enough to moisten dry ingredients.
Spoon into a 9 x 3 x 5-inch loaf pan
Bake in oven at 350ºF for 50-60 minutes or until wooden pick inserted near the center comes out clean.

Notes: Laura says she’s done this recipe with all kinds of peanut butter (all-natural, Skippy, crunchy, creamy, etc) and they all work. She also uses more than 3/4 cup. I did too–almost a full cup. I’d even use more than that next time…and oh believe me, there will be a next time.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

